Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

10K Developer Commitment

Reply
New Developer
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-25-2012
My Device: None
My Carrier: TDC

Re: BB10 device

So if you are from Europe and not interested in traveling cross-continents it will not be possible to acquire a developer device, is this right?

Developer
Posts: 849
Registered: ‎03-03-2011
My Device: Z10

Re: BB10 device

You can get it in Stockholm or Malmo.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Leader of Ljubljana BlackBerry Developer Group
BlackBerry Certified Builder for Native Application Development
New Developer
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-25-2012
My Device: None
My Carrier: TDC

Re: BB10 device

I applied for Malmö, but it's not exactly an optimal solution for students. Palm had an easier solution with their devices :smileyhappy:

Contributor
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎01-21-2012
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Iusacell

Re: BB10 device

I'm facing the same issue. I just made an app for playbook but now i want to make it for BB10 but i don't have a Alpha Dev Device. We had a BlackBerry Jam in Mexico but i didn't attempt. Are you guys making anothe trip down to mexico soon???

New Developer
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-23-2012
My Device: None
My Carrier: 3

Re: BB10 device

I unfortunately missed the jam in London UK is there going to be another one ? I'm not able to globe trot, is there anything else i can do like send my app screen shots to someone to get considered for a device
Contributor
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎01-21-2012
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Iusacell

Re: BB10 device

I guess RIM is not giving up some more ptions to small developers who can't travel. I guess we would just have to wait to the release of BB10 to star developing.

New Developer
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎02-16-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Dev Alpha B / BlackBerry PlayBook
My Carrier: Att

Re: BB10 device

Hi I would like to know if my ported android apps will qualify me to trade in my dev alpha for the limited edition bb10 device ?

 

Thanks,

Jerry Li

BB Rocks !
Developer
Posts: 849
Registered: ‎03-03-2011
My Device: Z10

Re: BB10 device

That's different offer. AFAIK any app for BB10 would qualify for that.

10K$ offer is a different story.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Leader of Ljubljana BlackBerry Developer Group
BlackBerry Certified Builder for Native Application Development
Contributor
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎01-21-2012
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Iusacell

Re: BB10 device

I found this one. If you cant have a Devalpha device and if you own a Playbook you can install BB10 on it.

 

Here is how.

 

http://forums.crackberry.com/blackberry-tablet-os-f228/how-install-bb10-your-blackberry-playbook-736...

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-18-2012
My Device: Torch 9810 (RIM Unlocked)
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: BB10 device

It would never be the same; different resolutions between the playbook and the dev alpha.

 

If you want to devleop with an alpha, use an simulator.

https://developer.blackberry.com/html5/documentation/using_the_bb10_simulator_2008466_11.html

 

S.