Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

10K Developer Commitment

Reply
Developer
fantas
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎02-10-2012
My Device: Limited Developer Edition
My Carrier: WiFi

Re: BB10 device

You can always use the simulator

If i've helped you use the like button (KUDOS)!
Follow me at twitter: @hektorc
Read my blog: http://hektor.in
Check my GitHub: github.com/hektorcyc
Please use plain text.
Contributor
bobbydriscol
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎05-04-2012
My Device: Playbook, 9670, 9800, 9350
My Carrier: Telus

Re: BB10 device

There's 4 resolutions that I currently see BB10 supporting: 720x720 (keyboard phone), 1280x720 (final touch phone), 1280x768 (dev alpha) and 1024x600 (playbook). Building an app to a hard resolution would limit your deployment. That said, there's many reasons why a physical device is better than the simulator, and most relate to API's and Gesture support on a physical device that can't be emulated by the simulator.

 

With the Playbook, you can safely build using that device since that resolution will be one of the supported devices in the near future (based on the statement that BB10 will be going to the Playbook as well).

 

Not to mention the phantom 10" Playbook

Please use plain text.
New Member
csleung
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-03-2012
My Device: Alpha Device
My Carrier: Fido

Re: BB10 device

In Vancouver, BC, Canada, there is a company called Wavefront which has a lab with all the mobile devices on the market which you can rent for app testing.  Try to see if there are companies offering similar services in your area.

Please use plain text.
Developer
ignites
Posts: 466
Registered: ‎04-11-2012
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: BB10 device


mxberry wrote:

I found this one. If you cant have a Devalpha device and if you own a Playbook you can install BB10 on it.

 

Here is how.

 

http://forums.crackberry.com/blackberry-tablet-os-f228/how-install-bb10-your-blackberry-playbook-736...


No its not the same. rev 3 (10.0.0.9 the latest Dev Alpha version) bricks the PlayBook, so dont do it!

 

You can do it for rev 2, however, rev 2 doesnt support a lot of the functions and rev 3 breaks some apps done in rev 2 so best to run on simulator or else you're just wasting effort.


Developer for easyDial for BlackBerry Bold & inLink for BlackBerry PlayBook
Find me online via twitter, or on the techfruits.com webpage. Please hit the like button below if what I said helped!
Please use plain text.
Contributor
willy1967
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-13-2012
My Device: playbook
My Carrier: telus

Re: BB10 device

You can apply for the dev alpha c as it doesn't require going to any conference, just make sure you have a couple apps alreayd submitted

Please use plain text.
New Developer
alezy
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎11-25-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Playbook®
My Carrier: Wi-fi only

Re: BB10 device

There are no BB Jam events on my region. What can I do to get a BB10 Alpha device?
--
Mobile Developer
http://twitter.com/hackerlivre
Please use plain text.
New Developer
alezy
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎11-25-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Playbook®
My Carrier: Wi-fi only

Re: BB10 device

[ Edited ]

mxberry wrote:

I found this one. If you cant have a Devalpha device and if you own a Playbook you can install BB10 on it.

 

Here is how.

 

http://forums.crackberry.com/blackberry-tablet-os-f228/how-install-bb10-your-blackberry-playbook-736...


 

Do not run the risk of do a wrong thing and give TILT on playbook?

--
Mobile Developer
http://twitter.com/hackerlivre
Please use plain text.
New Developer
alezy
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎11-25-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Playbook®
My Carrier: Wi-fi only

Re: BB10 device

[ Edited ]

fantas wrote:

You can always use the simulator


It's not the same thing for my needs :smileysad:

--
Mobile Developer
http://twitter.com/hackerlivre
Please use plain text.
New Developer
alezy
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎11-25-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Playbook®
My Carrier: Wi-fi only

Re: BB10 device

[ Edited ]

csleung wrote:

In Vancouver, BC, Canada, there is a company called Wavefront which has a lab with all the mobile devices on the market which you can rent for app testing.  Try to see if there are companies offering similar services in your area.



Good idea, thanks!

--
Mobile Developer
http://twitter.com/hackerlivre
Please use plain text.
New Developer
alezy
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎11-25-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Playbook®
My Carrier: Wi-fi only

Re: BB10 device

That looks good for me! :smileyhappy:
--
Mobile Developer
http://twitter.com/hackerlivre
Please use plain text.