Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

10K Developer Commitment

Contributor
bdely
My Device: Curve 9380 / PlayBook

Re: Let's loosen up the criterias and encourage creativity in making money together!

The one app does not mean that they can only have one app in app world, it mean that they can only have one app the can qualify for the 10k, why would RIM do a payout 10 time to one developer, They put that in so that it gives developers a chance.
Please use plain text.
Developer
adwiv
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Let's loosen up the criterias and encourage creativity in making money together!

bdely wrote:
Android is not the only migration path. They could go with webworks.
I know the java and javascript are a little different. (I am a java and javascript developer)

You're kidding right? Though "theoretically" JavaScript is object oriented, I have almost never seen it used that way.

Have you ever tried converting a java app into webworks? Where do you get the javascript port of J2SE libraries? How do you use threads/asyncrhonous processing?

Please use plain text.
Contributor
bdely

I am with JCarty. Even if i was to qualify for the 10K, I would be happier if my app could make the 10K on its own, It would show that it is a useful app and people like it. I would also bet that every app the qualifies would make the 10K or more on its own.

Please use plain text.
Developer
steve_web
My Device: BlackBerry Z10, PlayBook, 9900

I'm not 100% against Android ports (or anything from Java) I'm just noting that I have seen several cases where lag/performance issues were noted on apps that were Android ports.