Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

Developer
GoldenJoe
My Device: Not Specified

Actionscript Game Effects

Greetings!

I've got a nice simple actionscript game going, and I'd like to polish it up before I submit it to the app world. Thing is, I'm not sure how to do various animations and effects. For now, these are the most important ones to me. As always, thanks so much for your help.

Menu Transitions

I'm still not sure how to make different "screens" (I'm an actionscript noob, so I'm picking it up as I go along). Suppose I have a title screen. How could I make it transition nicely into the game (fading, 3D flipping, making the components fly away, etc)?

Round 1

A banner runs across the screen, then some text ("Round X") runs across the banner, pauses in the middle then runs off to the side, after which the banner dissipates. Some combination of timers and transformations? Can you use tweens in Flex Builder like that?

Glowing Trail

There are some balls moving around in the game. I'd like it if I could give them an afterimage effect as they bounce around. Think something like the light trails from the bikes in tron, except not permanent. It must be able to follow the ball at any angle, including bounces. How could I make the edges of the trail "glowy" and have the tip fade out? Sorry for the ASCII art, I can photoshop an example later if it isn't clear. The "O" is the ball, the lines are glowing edges, and the space in between is a low alpha color.

_____

O_____

Distorted Grid

How can I distort parts of an image and have it return to normal? If you've ever played Geometry Wars, you may have noticed that the background ripples for large explosions. I'd like to produce something similar.

Rolling Score Counter