Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 229
Registered: ‎03-14-2012
My Device: PlayBook 2.0
My Carrier: AT&T

Air app hangs on BlackBerry 10 startscreen

Hi,

 

I just packed and installed my app on the Dev Alpha. 

It hangs on the startscreen. You can only see 2 little dots in the middle of the screen.

 

Any ideas what could cause this? 

Thanks

Developer
Posts: 271
Registered: ‎01-21-2013
My Device: BB10 Dev Aplha
My Carrier: -

Re: Air app hangs on BlackBerry 10 startscreen

It might not have compiled correctly or it may have some runtime errors and as a result the app is getting hang or rather do not execute at all.

Developer
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Air app hangs on BlackBerry 10 startscreen

Are you running in debug?
Developer
Posts: 1,134
Registered: ‎12-29-2010
My Device: PlayBook, Z10 LE, Dev Alpha C

Re: Air app hangs on BlackBerry 10 startscreen

Make sure you compile with the debug switch set, and then connect your debugger to the app so you can see trace statements, exceptions getting thrown, stack trace, etc.

Developer
Posts: 229
Registered: ‎03-14-2012
My Device: PlayBook 2.0
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Air app hangs on BlackBerry 10 startscreen

@UberschallSamsara

 

How do I do that and which tool do I need? Smiley Happy

 

Currently I'm using Flash CS 6 and Air 3.1 to build the app. 

I pack and sign it with the BlackBerry Graphical Aid.

 

 

Developer
Posts: 1,134
Registered: ‎12-29-2010
My Device: PlayBook, Z10 LE, Dev Alpha C

Re: Air app hangs on BlackBerry 10 startscreen

I don't use Flash or Flash Builder, so I can't walk you through which menus/toolbar buttons/etc

to use there, but the key is that you need to generate a debuggable SWF (Googling for e.g.

"how to create debug SWF in Flash CS6" will probably get you the answer right away).  From there

you can generate your bar with the graphical aid, install, and then connect to e.g. the commandline

debugger (fdb) in order to see trace statement output.

 

There are lots of threads on this; see this one, as just an example.