Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-15-2011
My Device: Not Specified

App doesnt run correctly

Hi everyone,

 

Ive done a simple air application and successfully installed it in my Playbook Simulator 0.9.3. However the application doesnt run as i wanted to.

 

Below is the swf screenshot.

swf_ss.jpg

 

and the *-app.xml codes.

 

<?xml version ="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
<application xmlns="http://ns.adobe.com/air/application/2.5">
<id>HelloBB</id>
<versionNumber>1.0.0</versionNumber>
<filename>HelloBB</filename>
<description></description>
<name>HelloBB</name>
<copyright></copyright>
<initialWindow>
<content>HelloBB.swf</content>
<systemChrome>none</systemChrome>
<transparent>false</transparent>
<visible>true</visible>
<fullScreen>true</fullScreen>
<aspectRatio>landscape</aspectRatio>
<renderMode>auto</renderMode>
</initialWindow>
<icon></icon>
<customUpdateUI>false</customUpdateUI>
<allowBrowserInvocation>false</allowBrowserInvocation>
</application>

 

And lastly the screenshot of the application running in simulator after it launches

bb_ss.jpg

 

Notice that the background color is white and there is no button displayed. And it doesnt go fullscreen and cant be minimized either.

 

Help me out :smileywink:

Developer
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10

Re: App doesnt run correctly

So the app runs fine as an AIR application but does not start up at all in the simulator?  Are you having the native application visibility set to true?  Is it not starting or does it start then crash?

Developer
Posts: 6,473
Registered: ‎12-08-2010
My Device: PlayBook, Z10

Re: App doesnt run correctly

It looks to me like your app launched then crashed.  The white is leftover stuff from when apps crash in the simulator (sometimes).  That's a theory anyway.  On the other hand, the status bar is missing so maybe that's not it.

 

Maybe enable debug mode and see if you get a traceback of some kind when you run it.


Peter Hansen -- (BB10 and dev-related blog posts at http://peterhansen.ca.)
Author of White Noise and Battery Guru for BB10 and for PlayBook | Get more from your battery!
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-15-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: App doesnt run correctly

The app now works but im still uncertain about the real problem...

i added

stage.nativeWindow.visible = true;

 perhaps this is the problem

 

Developer
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10

Re: App doesnt run correctly

Common mistake.  Need to set 2 places to make certain the applicaion becomes visible.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-15-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: App doesnt run correctly

I tried to uninstall and reinstall the same application, but the same problem occurs.

 

Now something must be wrong with either the simulator, or vmware or my pc as a whole :smileysurprised:.

 

 

Developer
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10

Re: App doesnt run correctly

If you dont think that your app might be causing the problem, some have had success in reinstalling the OS in VMWare. Be certain your settings are correct (memory,disk,acceleration,processors).