Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

Reply
Contributor
analytik
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎08-02-2012
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: EMT (Estonia)
Accepted Solution

BB10 - PushSampleApp don't go past splash screen

I have downloaded the lastest PushSampleApp and tried to install in both on my Dev Alpha device and the simulator, and neither of them go past the splash screen.

 

I am just starting with AIR development, so I haven't read the code very carefully, but shouldn't there be there some UI initializing automatically? I haven't made the server-side push compoment, but still I was under the impression that things should happen, as my other Hello World application did the same thing - splash screen and nothing past it.

 

Can anyone please try to hint what I might be doing wrong? I'm using Flash Builder 4.6.0 with the Beta 2 of 3.0.0 SDK.

 

Alternatively, if anyone can please send me their hello world apps as Flash Builder projects that absolutely work and show something, I'll be grateful.

Please use plain text.
Developer
jtegen
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: BB10 - PushSampleApp don't go past splash screen

If you run the app in debug, does it crash and trace where it might be failing? If you take out the push code, does it still hang?

You might be ahead of the curve in terms of push with AIR. It is on my list to do (I've already signed up), but have not gone any further than that. Any experience you can share would be helpful to a lot of people.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
analytik
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎08-02-2012
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: EMT (Estonia)

Re: BB10 - PushSampleApp don't go past splash screen

Ah, thanks, there we go. The error is

VerifyError: Error #1014: Class mx.core::BitmapAsset could not be found.

Any ideas?
Please use plain text.
Developer
jtegen
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: BB10 - PushSampleApp don't go past splash screen

Best to avoid mx framework in BB10. If you need to, create a flex app (not a AS3 app) that would include the MX framework.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
analytik
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎08-02-2012
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: EMT (Estonia)

Re: BB10 - PushSampleApp don't go past splash screen

That is weird;

first, I would assume that BlackBerry's own sample apps would work;

second, I tried importing the class & adding the mx.swc, and it still did throw the same error. Is this a problem on RIM's or Adobe's side?

 

m.

Please use plain text.
Developer
jtegen
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: BB10 - PushSampleApp don't go past splash screen

Probably RIM since they are in control of AIR for PB/BB10. I personally avoid mx since it is no longer supported, it is very heavy (CPU,memory,etc.), not designed for mobile. See if you can remove that part to see if that gets rid of your error.

In terms of push, make certain you have permission for network on.
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
mdandrea
Posts: 311
Registered: ‎08-08-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: BB10 - PushSampleApp don't go past splash screen

Hi,

 

I worked on the Push Receiver sample app for Adobe AIR so I should be able to help you out.

I just tried it on the BB10 Dev Alpha device I have and it starts up without any issues.

 

A couple of questions to start:

1. What OS version do you have on your Dev Alpha?

2. Have you tried deploying the PushReceiver.bar that is supplied in the source code you downloaded to see if that works?

 

Thanks,

 

Matt

 

 

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
mdandrea
Posts: 311
Registered: ‎08-08-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: BB10 - PushSampleApp don't go past splash screen

Oh, I should also add that push is not supported on the BB10 simulator as of yet.

Please use plain text.
Developer
jtegen
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: BB10 - PushSampleApp don't go past splash screen

Where is the PushReceiver.bar sample?
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
mdandrea
Posts: 311
Registered: ‎08-08-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: BB10 - PushSampleApp don't go past splash screen

It's one of the files at the root level of the source code you download for the Push Receiver sample app.
Please use plain text.