Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

New Developer
My Device: Torch 9800
Accepted Solution

Creating a modal wait screen in ActionScript

Hi Everyone,

Firstly, this forum has provided me with some great advice on getting my first PlayBook release onto App World so a big thanks to everybody at RIM and the community in general for the help.

My Problem

I developed my application for AIR 2.5 using Flash Builder 4.5 and the BlackBerry PlayBook AIR APIs.

My application performs a long-running operation which, via a click event, calls a web service and requests some data.  Currently, the application doesn't provide the user with any feedback and I'd like to change that!

I'm relatively new to the Flash Builder and wondered what was the best way to execute an operation like this and display a transparent "wait modal" perhaps with an activity indicator to the user while it's happening.

I have tried to implement this in several ways (using shapes. containers etc.) however the modal never displays when the onClick event is fired.  I also looked into background processing but was warned against using this.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.  I'm relatively new to this development environment, so apologies if this is obvious!

Thanks in advance.

Nick

Developer
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10

Re: Creating a modal wait screen in ActionScript