Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

Contributor
vitalyx
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: Tele2

Difference between qnx.fuse.ui and qnx.ui?

Hello guys!

I'm new to Playbook development, Flash and Air. Could you please explain what's the difference between these two sets of components? The docs for them look exactly the same.

Best webOS stock market app comes to Playbook: Top Stocks
Please use plain text.
Developer
jtegen
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Difference between qnx.fuse.ui and qnx.ui?

qnx.ui was the 1.x version of the AIR library for the device. qnx.fuse.ui is the 2.x version. The main difference is that many of the control have a different look. It has not been announced, but probably at some point, 1.x will be phased out or not supported. If you are creating a new app, use the qnx.fuse.ui API. Those app using qnx.ui should probably migrate to qux.fuse.ui at some point. You can (for the most part) interchange between the two frameworks, but it is best not to use the same object (e.g. TextInput) in the same class/view (gets messy).
Please use plain text.
Developer
peter9477
My Device: PlayBook, Z10
My Carrier: none

Another key difference is you can't take advantage of spell-checking and the predictive typing feature unless you use Fuse.

I think they've also fixed some design flaws that the original package had in terms of layout support (containers etc).

Basically, use fuse, and if you were a developer who had written something with ui instead, migrate to fuse as soon as possible unless your app will never need any of the new features and you don't really plan to support it in future.

Peter Hansen -- (BB10 and dev-related blog posts at http://peterhansen.ca.)