Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

Reply
Contributor
baibhav
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-10-2010
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Error with Hello world app

I was trying to get the hello world app working through command line. I generated the swf file but when I try to package with the following command i get this error. Any help is very appreciated.

 

Thanks

 

 

blackberry-airpackager -package AIRHelloWorld.bar -installApp -launchApp blackberry-tablet-default-icon.png AIRHelloWorld.swf application.xml -device 192.168.26.128 -password <password>
Error: Invalid byte 1 of 1-byte UTF-8 sequence.

 

Please use plain text.
Developer
jtegen
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Error with Hello world app

Try without the icon and something like:

 

blackberry-airpackager -package AIRHelloWorld.bar -installApp -launchApp -C bin-debug AIRHelloWorld-app.xml AIRHelloWorld.swf -device 192.168.26.128

Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
renaun
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎10-25-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Error with Hello world app

Something seems to be wrong with the application.xml, can you post that file or try using the xml below:

 

 

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<application xmlns="http://ns.adobe.com/air/application/2.5">
	<id>AIRHelloWorld</id>
	<filename>AIRHelloWorld</filename>
	<name>AIRHelloWorld</name>
	<versionNumber>1.0.0</versionNumber>
	<initialWindow>
		<content>AIRHelloWorld.swf</content>

	<autoOrients>true</autoOrients>
    <fullScreen>true</fullScreen>
    <visible>true</visible>
  </initialWindow>
</application>

 

 

blog: http://renaun.com
twitter: @renaun
Please use plain text.
Contributor
baibhav
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-10-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Error with Hello world app

I tried it without the icon name in the command line and it works fine. Any idea why packaging with icon is not working?

 

Thanks,

Baibhav

Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
renaun
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎10-25-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Error with Hello world app

It does work but your command line arguement ordering was off, you have to do SWF, app descriptor file, then any other files to package with the .bar package.

blog: http://renaun.com
twitter: @renaun
Please use plain text.
New Developer
ColinHolgate
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎12-09-2010
My Device: PlayBook Simulator

Re: Error with Hello world app

[ Edited ]

Just to confirm what Renaun said, I've succeeded in having an icon, by putting the icon file name after the swf's name. I also haven't had to use -password at all.

 

ps. I have the app descriptor file then the swf, then the icon, so it seems at least the descriptor and swf can be in either order. Unless Renaun's order doesn't work?

Please use plain text.