Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎12-06-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Half of Simulator disappears

Anyone experience half of the simulator disappearing upon initial load of app...  and staying that way?

Developer
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Half of Simulator disappears

Try restarting the simulator.  I see it failry often that the Os will run fine, but the menus to set developer mode wont show up.  Sometimes I have to reboot several times before the whole Os runs "normally".

Developer
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎12-06-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Half of Simulator disappears

I have re-downloaded the simulator, reinstalled VMware, reinstalled the Simulator, and successfully added two apps with the same affect.

 

One app was complicated, the other was completely bare bones.

Resolution is 1024x600 for both.

 

When I click on either app icon, it appears to try and load it, icons slide down and I get a momentary glimpse of a BB icon on a white background ( distorted though). And then it immediately returns to the list of apps screen.

 

Here is my command line, in case it helps:

blackberry-airpackager -package /apps/app1/app1.bar -installApp -launchApp /apps/app1/app1-app.xml /apps/app1/app1.swf -C /apps/app1  -device 192.168.80.128

 

 

Developer
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Half of Simulator disappears

[ Edited ]

Are you making the stage visible in the root constructor?

 

this.stage.nativeWindow.visible = true;

 

 

Developer
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Half of Simulator disappears

Does the application run normally as an AIR application?

Developer
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎12-06-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Half of Simulator disappears

It is visible and also set to visible in the app.xml

 

It runs fine as an AIR application.

 

I did not note but gather you have guessed, I am working in Flash Pro not Builder.

Developer
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Half of Simulator disappears

And a simple "Hello World" application crashes?

Developer
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎12-06-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Half of Simulator disappears

I am now using a swf that only has a couple simple graphics on it. Sim tries to load it after clicking the icon but it fails.

 

I am using the default icon, as described during the installation from the command line. Any chance this is it? Do I need to supply an icon?

Developer
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎12-06-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Half of Simulator disappears

I will now make another one in Builder and see if it works. It did originally but will test it again to see if points to anything.

Regular Contributor
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎10-25-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Half of Simulator disappears

Can you post the .fla file and I'll try and take a look and try it on my setup with the Simulator.

blog: http://renaun.com
twitter: @renaun