If you are using Internet Explorer, please remove blackberry.com from your compatibility view settings.

Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

Reply
New Member
tr3sco
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-21-2012
My Device: BlackBerry 9790
My Carrier: Telcel
Accepted Solution

How to Set a BlackBerry10 App's Icon in Flash Builder?

Hi guys,

 

I have successfully migrated my PlayBook app to BlackBerry10 through FlashBuilder, and I have already been able to run it in a Dev Alpha, but I can't set the app's icon.  This is what I've done so far:

 

1.  Imported my image.  (I've tried different sizes without any luck: 150x150, 114x114, 86x86, 57x57)

2.  I have tried different things in my bar_descriptor.xml without any luck; here they are:

 

First Try

<icon><image>Icon.png</image></icon>

 

Second Try

<icon><image>assets/Icon.png</image></icon>

 

Third Try

<icon><image>Icon.png</image></icon>

<asset path="assets/Icon.png">Icon.png</asset>

 

Could anyone help me out?  This is the only thing I'm missing in order to submit it to AppWorld.

 

Thanks a lot,

 

Regards,

 

Alejandro

 

Please use plain text.
Developer
jtegen
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: How to Set a BlackBerry10 App's Icon in Flash Builder?

The icons are 114x114.
Did you include the image as part of the package (Package Contents)?

I have:
<icon><image>assets/icons/icon114.png</image></icon>
in bar-descriptor.xml

and
<icon>
<!-- <image16x16></image16x16>
<image32x32></image32x32>
<image36x36></image36x36>
<image48x48></image48x48>
<image57x57></image57x57>
<image72x72></image72x72>-->
<image114x114>assets/icons/icon114.png</image114x114>
<!-- <image128x128></image128x128> -->
</icon>

In -app.xml
Please use plain text.
New Member
tr3sco
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-21-2012
My Device: BlackBerry 9790
My Carrier: Telcel

Re: How to Set a BlackBerry10 App's Icon in Flash Builder?

Thanks a lot JTegen.  I tried including the change sin app.xml, and when I tried to compile I got the error that the image wasn't included in the Package Contents.  Do you happen to know how to correctly include the image?  I've included the image in the assets folder, inserting it through: Import / File System.

 

Thanks again,

 

Regards,

 

Alex

Please use plain text.
Developer
jtegen
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: How to Set a BlackBerry10 App's Icon in Flash Builder?

Under project properties, flex build packaging, blackberry, package contents tab.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
brew1
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎02-11-2012
My Device: playbook 16 gig
My Carrier: verizon

Re: How to Set a BlackBerry10 App's Icon in Flash Builder?

Hi,
I'm not sure if this is relevant, but there was a bug in flash builder packaging where it would leave out icons.
I forget the exact reason, but right before the final step in publishing, you will see all included files with check marks.
Doublecheck that area to see if your icon is missing.

I remember this happening for my iOS app a few months back, it was a known bug.

Please use plain text.
Developer
jtegen
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: How to Set a BlackBerry10 App's Icon in Flash Builder?

That is true. That happens to me on the PlayBook (2.1) version, but I have not seen it happen for the BB10 (3.0) version.
Please use plain text.
New Member
tr3sco
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-21-2012
My Device: BlackBerry 9790
My Carrier: Telcel

Re: How to Set a BlackBerry10 App's Icon in Flash Builder?

Hi Jtegen,

 

I was finally able to include the icon.  It seems that the icon wasn't being included in the Package Contents (no matter what I did).  I had to restart Flash Builder and clean the project several times, before it was included.

 

Thanks a lot,

 

Regards,

 

Alex

Please use plain text.