If you are using Internet Explorer, please remove blackberry.com from your compatibility view settings.

Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

New Developer
BrianMcPeek
My Device: Torch 9850/64GB PlayBook
My Carrier: Verizon
Accepted Solution

How to save a text input value from one state and call that value at another state

I have a general question and was wondering if someone can help me out. I am new to flash builder 4 so I would need very easy to understand answer. Here is my problem: I need to know how to save a text input value in one state and then call that value from a different state. Basically I am looking to have a text input box in states 1,2,3 and 4. Next I want to be able to call the values of those four text inputs so that I can add them and then display the total value in state 5. I have tried several different things and nothings works. I first tried to declare them as public and global variables and that didn't work. I also tried using them as a shared object but I feel like there is an easier way. I put together some code so you can see what I am looking to do. If anyone can lead me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Brian

<fx:smileyfrustrated:cript>

<![CDATA[

private function add():void{

var A:Number = Number(A.text);

var B:Number = Number(B.text);

var C:Number = Number(C.text);

var D:Number = Number(D.text);

var TotalScore:Number = A + B + C + D;

Total.text = TotalScore.toString();

}

]]>

</fx:smileyfrustrated:cript>

<s:states>
 <s:smileyfrustrated:tate name="View1"/>
 <s:smileyfrustrated:tate name="View2"/>
 <s:smileyfrustrated:tate name="View3"/>
 <s:smileyfrustrated:tate name="View4"/>
 <s:smileyfrustrated:tate name="View5"/>
 </s:states>
<!-- View 1 -->