Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

Reply
Retired
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: I have a problem with the playbook simulator

kellya and MavereX,

 

Could you please provide the full version of the simulator you are using (ex 2.0.0.123)?

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
New Contributor
kellya
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-02-2011
My Device: Storm2 9550

Re: I have a problem with the playbook simulator

I have tried both 1.0.7-3312 and 2.0.0-4867.

New Contributor
MavereX
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-06-2011
My Device: Developer

Re: I have a problem with the playbook simulator

I have only tried 2.0.0-4867, I will try 1.0.8-6067 and let you know of the results.

New Contributor
kellya
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-02-2011
My Device: Storm2 9550

Re: I have a problem with the playbook simulator

I just tried 1.0.8-6067 and got the same result.  Also, for the heck of it, I tried in VMware workstation instead of player.  No change their either.

Retired
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: I have a problem with the playbook simulator

Apart from MavereX, whom has already confirmed, could everyone else check to ensure that the "Accelerate 3D Graphics" setting is enabled in VM Ware? If it is not, please enable then reboot and let me know if the issue is fixed. 

 

MavereX, I am still investigating other possible causes.

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
New Contributor
kellya
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-02-2011
My Device: Storm2 9550

Re: I have a problem with the playbook simulator

Yes, "Accelerate 3D Graphics" has been set. I have also tried it without being set. Thinking that it might be something graphics related with Gnome 3.2's gnome shell, I also have booted it into failsafe mode where it doesn't do the compositing and tried that too. Same results in every way I've tested.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
daryl_martin
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
My Device: N/A

Re: I have a problem with the playbook simulator

Can you please check your for any OpenGL failures?  The logfile should be in the same directory that you installed the playbook images.  

 

The root cause of this issue is that VMWare is not recognizing your card as 3D capable, which could be caused by having old hardware or bad/out of date drivers.  Please make sure you are using the latest 3rd party drivers that are available for your graphics card.

New Contributor
kellya
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-02-2011
My Device: Storm2 9550

Re: I have a problem with the playbook simulator

I looked through the logs before, but never caught anything. This time I did see:
2011-12-07T15:31:27.418-05:00| mks| I120: MKS-SLC: failed to start svga3d vmiop to render 3d.

So that could very well be the cause. I am just using the intel drivers that come with Fedora16. I'll try grabbing the current ones from Intel, and see if I am blessed with luck of getting that to work.
New Contributor
MavereX
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-06-2011
My Device: Developer

Re: I have a problem with the playbook simulator

[ Edited ]

Intel drivers, I think we've found the issue here its the crappy older intel intergrated graphics chipsets that is probably causing this issue. ugh. 

 

I've scanned each line on the logs for both and all I can see thats even questionable is from running 1.0.8

 

 

Dec 07 04:20:28.209: mks| MKSHostOps_Exit3D: 0, 1
Dec 07 04:21:18.506: vmx| GuestRpcSendTimedOut: message to toolbox-dnd timed out.
Dec 07 04:21:43.128: vcpu-0| VLANCE: Switching to 32bit I/O
Dec 07 04:22:33.377: mks| Setting thread 38 stack size to 1048576.
Dec 07 04:23:18.558: vmx| GuestRpcSendTimedOut: message to toolbox timed out.
Dec 07 04:23:18.608: vmx| Vix: [6996 guestCommands.c:2392]: Error VIX_E_TOOLS_NOT_RUNNING in VMAutomationTranslateGuestRpcError(): VMware Tools are not running in the guest

 

BlackBerry Development Advisor
daryl_martin
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
My Device: N/A

Re: I have a problem with the playbook simulator

Thanks for the logs.  The below line tells me that 3D was disabled in VMWare for some reason.  

 

Dec 07 04:20:28.209: mks| MKSHostOps_Exit3D: 0, 1

 

Have you been able to update the drivers and retest?