Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

Reply
New Contributor
romainlefebvre
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-08-2010

Is there an API for geo location?

Hi,

 

I read on forums that there will be assisted GPS on the Playbook.

I didn't find in API reference any object that refers to a Location class. Does it exist?

 

Thanks,

Romain

Please use plain text.
Contributor
ml4d
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-07-2010

Re: Is there an API for geo location?

[ Edited ]

Air 2.5 has a geolocation API, check the link below for more info.

 

http://help.adobe.com/en_US/FlashPlatform/beta/reference/actionscript/3/flash/sensors/Geolocation.ht...

 

However I have only implemented/used/debug this api on devices that support Geolocation.

 

Even though the Playbook has Geolocation features you computer does not, therefore neither does the simulator or so I would assume.

 

Check out this post by Serge Jespers for a temporary ideas until you get your hands on a device to test with.

 

http://www.webkitchen.be/2010/03/05/the-html5-flash-marriage-geolocation/

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
romainlefebvre
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-08-2010

Re: Is there an API for geo location?

Thanks for your answer!

 

I read from the release notes of Playbook Air SDK that the location API is not implemented yet.

Please use plain text.
New Developer
lauff
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-28-2010

Re: Is there an API for geo location?

It was mentioned in the "Develop for the BlackBerry Tablet OS" series that the GPS API should be available in the next simulator version. I think I can remember that this is planned to come early January.

Regards,
Markus

--

Wouldn't this be worth a Kudo?
(If yes, please click the white star to the left)
Please use plain text.
Developer
jtegen
Posts: 6,535
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Is there an API for geo location?

I posted some code here:

 

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Tablet-OS-SDK-for-Adobe-AIR/Simulate-GPS-and-Accelerometer/td...

 

That allows you to simulate GPS information for the desktop (and simulator).  The coordinates are around Charlottesville, VA, but you can change the coordinates if you need to.

Please use plain text.
New Developer
lauff
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-28-2010

Re: Is there an API for geo location?

nothing is being displayed using the previous link :-(

 

Playing around I got it working without the page number at the end

 

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Tablet-OS-SDK-for-Adobe-AIR/Simulate-GPS-and-Accelerometer/td...

 

Regards,
Markus

--

Wouldn't this be worth a Kudo?
(If yes, please click the white star to the left)
Please use plain text.