Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

Reply
Developer
rocketman889
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎08-19-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Launch Failed. Launching Error

Good Day All,

 

 

I'm having a problem trying to install and launch the HelloWorld code sample from the getting started document.

 

I am getting two things popping up when I click debug. See below for details.

 

 

Thanks,

Mike

 

 

Launch Failed

Failed to connect; session timed out.

Ensure that:

1. You compiled your Flash application with debugging on. (I was in the Debug perspective)

2. You are running the debugger version of Flash Player. (How do I check this?)

 

AND

 

Packaging failed: 1

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: Bad version number in .class file

at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)

at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:676)

at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:124)

at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:260)

at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$100(URLClassLoader.java:56)

at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:195)

at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)

at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:188)

at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:317)

at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:280)

at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:252)

at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClassInternal(ClassLoader.java:375)Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: Bad version number in .class file

at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)

at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:676)

at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:124)

at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:260)

at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$100(URLClassLoader.java:56)

at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:195)

at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)

at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:188)

at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:317)

at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:280)

at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:252)

at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClassInternal(ClassLoader.java:375)

Please use plain text.
Developer
jtegen
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Launch Failed. Launching Error

Is this from the CLI to install the application?

Are you in "developer mode" under the tools/security?

Did you specify the correct device IP address?

Please use plain text.
Developer
rocketman889
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎08-19-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Launch Failed. Launching Error

I am trying to launch the app from FB4 on a mac. In the playbook, I made sure that I was in development mode and I put under the debug properties the correct IP address and device password.

Please use plain text.
Developer
jtegen
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Launch Failed. Launching Error

Device password would not be needed (should not hurt if you supply it).  I have not tried using FB4 GUI to send to the simulator, I just have the command line method.  I would try it at the command line to see if it is the command, communication with the simulator, something with the project build, or something totally unrelated.

 

So try the command:

 

blackberry-airpackager -package app.bar -installApp -launchApp -C bin-debug app-app.xml app.swf -device 192.168.192.129

 

Where app is your application name and the 192.* IP address would be the IP address of your simulator once started.  The blackberry-airpackager/bin is located in the BB SDK directory, so you will need to either give the full path to it or set an alias to it.

 

You will at least get some meaningful error messages from this method.  If this works, then something in FB4 settings is incorrect.

Please use plain text.
Developer
jtegen
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Launch Failed. Launching Error

Also, your dump is compaining about a bad version number.  In your app-app.xml file (where app is your application name), make certain <versionNumber> is set to a real number like 1.0.0, that it is uncommented and that it is under <application> node.

Please use plain text.
New Member
chordol
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-22-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Launch Failed. Launching Error

rocketman889,

I'm also running on Mac (SnowLeopard) and I had the exact "version" error as you.

The issue turns out to be about the version of Java.

I have solved it by switching my current Java version from 1.5 to 1.6.

Here's a link that explains how: http://docs.blackberry.com/en/developers/deliverables/21878/Switch_to_Java_1.6_1360807_11.jsp

I have to switch it back and forward now because Ruby or Rails 3 that I also use relies on Java 1.5 

 

Please reply if this solved your problem.

Please use plain text.
Developer
ashish117
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎07-20-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Launch Failed. Launching Error

 

i am having a similar problem. when i try to debug (using the flash builder GUI), i get

Deployment failed: 1
Error: Connection to https://192.168.106.129 refused

 

i have checked my version of java and it is version 6, update 22

 

the <versionnumber> in the app-xml file has 1.0.0

 

when i tried running from the command line, i got this message - error: A required privilege is not held by the client

 

so i googled around for an hour and then turned off the User account control, disabled the firewall and all other windows protection, gave myself the full permissions for all folders in the c drive

 

i still get the same error. any other ideas ?

Please use plain text.
Developer
jtegen
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Launch Failed. Launching Error

Is the IP address correct?  Maybe DHCP changed the IP address?

Your example here has "https".  Is that correct?

Please use plain text.
Developer
ashish117
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎07-20-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Launch Failed. Launching Error

 

yes, i have checked that multiple times. ip address is

192.168.106.129

 

it must be something simple, but i just can't think of it

Please use plain text.
Developer
jtegen
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Launch Failed. Launching Error

Grasping:

Firewall issue?

Admin access?

Please use plain text.