Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 229
Registered: ‎08-14-2009
My Device: Bold 9900, DevAlpha A
My Carrier: Vodafone DE

Re: Locale / Resource Bundle - File or directory does not exist

When exporting a release build you have the option to include specific files in the build. I think there is something similar under Project properties. Have you tried including your files this way?

 

export_release.png

Willy R.
-
If my post solved your problem, make it easier for others to find by Accepting it as a solution or provide a Kudo if it was helpful for you. Thanks.
Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎12-10-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Locale / Resource Bundle - File or directory does not exist

Thanks for the heads up on embed - it works. I guess this is a bit of a hack. Just in case someone else is hitting the same problem and are new to actionscript like I am, the codes are as follows:

 

 

[Embed(source="locale/en_US/labels.txt", mimeType="application/octet-stream")]
private var pUSLocale:Class;

 

 

RIM, if you are listening please put out more samples so that we know how to do this properly...

 

Thanks all for your help in getting a work around on this.

 

Cheers,

H

Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎12-10-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Locale / Resource Bundle - File or directory does not exist

Willy,

 

Thanks for the heads up - is there a way to do the same thing with debug version of the app and not the release version?

 

Many Thanks,

H

Developer
Posts: 229
Registered: ‎08-14-2009
My Device: Bold 9900, DevAlpha A
My Carrier: Vodafone DE

Re: Locale / Resource Bundle - File or directory does not exist

Yes you can find the same under: Project Properties->AS Build packaging->BB Tablet OS-> Package Contents.

Willy R.
-
If my post solved your problem, make it easier for others to find by Accepting it as a solution or provide a Kudo if it was helpful for you. Thanks.
Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎12-10-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Locale / Resource Bundle - File or directory does not exist

Willy,

 

Sorry for being a little thick. I can't find the "AS Build packaging" option. In my copy of Flash Builder 4, the options are:

 

 

  • Resource
  • Builders
  • Data Model
  • Data/Services
  • Flex Application
  • Flex Build Path
  • Flex Compiler
  • Flex Modules
  • Flex Server
  • Flex Theme
  • Project References
  • Refactoring History
  • Run/Debug Settings
The version of Flash Builder I am using is 4.0.1 (build 277662).
Many Thanks,
H

 

Developer
Posts: 229
Registered: ‎08-14-2009
My Device: Bold 9900, DevAlpha A
My Carrier: Vodafone DE

Re: Locale / Resource Bundle - File or directory does not exist

I'm sorry can't help you there as i'm running the Burrito Preview. You'll just have to look through all the options and see if you can find something similar. 

Willy R.
-
If my post solved your problem, make it easier for others to find by Accepting it as a solution or provide a Kudo if it was helpful for you. Thanks.
Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎12-10-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Locale / Resource Bundle - File or directory does not exist

No worries, thanks for all your suggestions.

 

Cheers,

H

Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-17-2011
My Device: developer
My Carrier: none

Re: Locale / Resource Bundle - File or directory does not exist

The piublicly available Flash Builders filter out *.properties files, so they do not get copied to the output folder. If you don't want to copy the files manually (and that won't work for creating release versions), you can rename the files to use a different extension.

I tried renaming my resource.properties files to resource.prop, and that immediately fixed the problem. I changed the resource loading code to reference the new extension, and that works just fine in the app:

 

MyBundle.load( "locale/" + LocaleManager.localeManager.getCurrentLocale() +
                "/resource.prop" );