05-12-2011 04:57 PM
I found that my playbook app is being distributed for free on blackberryrc.com. I've had only 3 downloads, so if someone at RIM wanted to check into who is doing this, my situation would be a really good place to start. I assume that others have also had their apps copied and posted, so between us, I bet we could isolate this down to a single user.
Also, I would reccomend that everyone with a not-free application send a demand email to info@blackberryrc.com demanding to have apps removed. I highly doubt that it's a site trying to be legitimate, but if so, such a flood of emails should serve as a wake-up call.
Solved! Go to Solution.
05-12-2011 05:09 PM
05-12-2011 05:10 PM
05-12-2011 05:13 PM
05-12-2011 05:15 PM
I didnt try initially because I'm on a work computer and they forbid downloads of any kind. I did go ahead and try to find a live download link, and it seems it goes right back to AppWorld. Sorry for the scare then.
05-12-2011 05:18 PM
05-13-2011 10:16 AM
I think this might be a non-issue. Every PlayBook app I've seen on that site just links back to AppWorld.
I guess that BlackBerryRC is simply trying to gain some traffic / ad hits based on frequently searched content. I'm just not sure if I should be happy or sad that my app isn't listed there ;-) e.g. if this is just more exposure in general it should just be A Good Thing[TM] (credit Martha Stewart)