Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

Reply
Developer
pyth
Posts: 508
Registered: ‎01-19-2011
My Device: My Trusty Red Plane

Re: Please update AIR to 3.9 in the PlayBook!


UberschallSamsara wrote:

pyth wrote:

Yes, I'm rewriting the flash code to native code. I managed to write it once, so I should be able to write it twice, right :smileyvery-happy:?

 

In fact, when Stage3D was made available, I rewrote my flash code with Starling (so it's not twice, but thrice ^^). But the performance on iOS was still **bleep**, so I gave that up and now it's ObjC all the way


You using any frameworks that have multiple language ports, like e.g. PureMVC?


No. like I said, I gave up on flash.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
I'm a bird from outer space. But I'm not flappy o.o
Developer
pyth
Posts: 508
Registered: ‎01-19-2011
My Device: My Trusty Red Plane

Re: Please update AIR to 3.9 in the PlayBook!

[ Edited ]

here's a Vine from my starling port. It's a super simple thing, and on Desktop it looks great. But on my iPad (4 (!) Generation) it starts with less than 40, and sometimes I'm not doing anything while inside my game, and the framerate drops as well

 

https://vine.co/v/hAahH0MthuY

 

 

Edit: oh, and if you're wondering about the sound: I was watching South Park :smileyhappy:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
I'm a bird from outer space. But I'm not flappy o.o
Regular Contributor
bigmokujin
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎03-25-2011
My Device: PlayBook

Re: Please update AIR to 3.9 in the PlayBook!

Was your test done on the latest builds of starling and feathers?

Developer
pyth
Posts: 508
Registered: ‎01-19-2011
My Device: My Trusty Red Plane

Re: Please update AIR to 3.9 in the PlayBook!

it was the latest build back when I made that Vine (so, summer 2013). But I don't care anymore, I'm on the native side now

 

also, it wasn't just a test, I really had the intention to make it a cross plattform game

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
I'm a bird from outer space. But I'm not flappy o.o
Developer
jtegen
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10

Re: Please update AIR to 3.9 in the PlayBook!

The text input when loses focus will not display the text entered.

See: http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Adobe-AIR-Development/What-is-QNXStageText-and-impact-on-Star...

This is of the 1.2 beta build (same with 1.1.1) of feathers.

The same app works fine on desktop and Android. It appears that BB replaced the text input control with their own.
Regular Contributor
bigmokujin
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎03-25-2011
My Device: PlayBook

Re: Please update AIR to 3.9 in the PlayBook!

Great...thanks for the heads up.  They are certainly not making it easy.  Perhaps it's time to go down another rung in the tech stack to the lovely native realm.

 

All we need now is for Adobe to announce AIR support for WP.

 

Thank you everyone for the insight.

Regular Contributor
bigmokujin
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎03-25-2011
My Device: PlayBook

Re: Please update AIR to 3.9 in the PlayBook!

Hey Pyth,

 

I know you've gone native.  But I came across this in the starling forums.

 

http://forum.starling-framework.org/topic/bb10-updates-to-air35

 

and a video of a game made w/ Starling, running on BB10.

 

https://vine.co/v/hB1Y5ZbxM7H

Developer
jtegen
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10

Re: Please update AIR to 3.9 in the PlayBook!

Starling and Features work great on BB10. Just that the text input does not work properly. If you are doing games, Starling would be a great choice. For apps, I kind of need the ability for the user to type in text.
Regular Contributor
bigmokujin
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎03-25-2011
My Device: PlayBook

Re: Please update AIR to 3.9 in the PlayBook!

Well you are absolutely right. Everything works but the text input field. Just loaded up the component explorer on my phone. That's really too bad as it does seem to be working rather well. Did anyone submit a bug to BlackBerry on this? And did anyone bring it to the attention of the feathers or starling team?

 

 

Developer
pyth
Posts: 508
Registered: ‎01-19-2011
My Device: My Trusty Red Plane

Re: Please update AIR to 3.9 in the PlayBook!


bigmokujin wrote:

 

and a video of a game made w/ Starling, running on BB10.

 

https://vine.co/v/hB1Y5ZbxM7H


Saw that before already, when I was still developing with Starling (and going through their forums as well).

 

Don't care anymore, Starling randomly (!) got slower on iOS, --> scrapped

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
I'm a bird from outer space. But I'm not flappy o.o