Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

Developer
peter9477
My Device: PlayBook, Z10

Problem with 0.9.3 beta simulator: navigateToURL() fails if browser open

This new one was posted in the "aggregate" issues thread:

steve_web wrote:

Maybe it is just me, but it doesn't appear that you can launch a url in the browser more than once in the 0.9.3 simulator.

e.g. using navigateToURL(url); the first time works, but any other attempt while the browser remains open fails (e.g. no new browser window/tab... and no "overwrite" or prompt to load a new site, or info that the 2nd url could not be loaded)

I'm not sure if this is "expected" behavior or if this is a work in progress? (I'm still a bit new to flash development)

I've confirmed the same thing.  In fact, if the browser is even open already, whether from a previous navigateToURL() or just by being opened manually, then the page requested is not loaded.  All that happens is that focus switches to the browser (which is good, at least, in that you can see that the calls are executed, even though you can't test your actual links etc).

I'm quite sure this isn't the expected behaviour.  They've got it in effect communicating the target URL via the "launch arguments" when it opens the browser, but haven't implemented any inter-process message passing mechanism to send the link to an already open browser.  

I expect this will work just fine in a later version, using some PPSChannel or whatever to send the message.  It might even be working now on the browser side, and just not integrated into the navigateToURL() call, in which case they might be able to provide us with a temporary workaround using an explicit message.  QNX folks?

Peter Hansen -- (BB10 and dev-related blog posts at http://peterhansen.ca.)