Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

New Contributor
fishdev
My Device: Playbook

Recommended SDK(s) and Microarchitectures

Hello, 

I am new to Playbook development and I would like to know: how are most people structuring their Playbook AIR projects?

Do you use Flex Mobile SDK, QNX, MXML, or some combination of the three?

Do you use Parsley, Swiz, Cairngorm or some other microarchitecture?

What considerations are made to decide between these options?

Thanks.

Developer
Brandon_Appetizer
My Device: Blackberry Playbook

Re: Recommended SDK(s) and Microarchitectures

Hey, I noticed your post way down on the list and didn't want you to feel left out on your first post. I think the question goes a little over some devs heads (myself included), especially since a lot of devs (again, myself included) were attracted by the free Playbook offer and haven't done a lot of Air development before.

So far, I've only had small projects and without Adobe Air experience when I started them, I haven't looked extensively at additional frameworks and libraries. I'll have a look at some of the resources you mentioned as additional challenges crop up, but so far I've been winging it and rolling my own solutions as needed based on common software development principles (eg. loose coupling, modularization, etc.)

Hopefully I've broken the ice and some other forum-goers will share their experience =)

----------------------------------------
If this post solved your problem, please click the 'Accept as Solution' button.
If you found this post useful, please provide a Kudo. Thanks.

Approved Apps: Celestial Slingshot
Developer
thesmileman

There is a community library that jtegen has released you might look at that for some guidance.

Here is the link: