Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

New Contributor
malcolmchalmers
My Device: 8800

Should I learn ActionScript or Flex ?

I'm new to Playbook programing and am in the process of learning ActionScript as I write my first app.

Allot of examples and tutorials seem to use Flex though, so it got me wondering should I continue to learn ActionScript or go with Flex.

I have a fair bit of programming expierence in other languages so ActionScript looks a bit easier, it seems to make more sense but would I be better of learning Flex ?

what are your thoughts ?

---
Tech Tips Blog : http://www.malcolmchalmers.com
Please use plain text.
Developer
peter9477
My Device: PlayBook, Z10

Re: Should I learn ActionScript or Flex ?

I have no strong opinion about Flex (nor experience with it), other than a general distaste for things that mix code with XML like it does. (I object to that on several levels, some practical some merely subjective.)

I can say, however, that in the IRC channel (#playbook-dev on freenode.net) there are a handful of people migrating away from Flex to pure AS3, and so far (I believe) nobody going the other way.

Also I understand (consider this rumour unless someone else confirms it) that with Flex the resulting apps can be much larger and may suffer from worse performance. Even if true, the significance of this may be much less in larger apps (e.g. Hello World might be huge in Flex, but a real app may be closer to the same size) and possibly experienced Flex programmers know how to make any performance differences vanish too. I don't know.

Peter Hansen -- (BB10 and dev-related blog posts at http://peterhansen.ca.)
Author of White Noise and Battery Guru for BB10 and for PlayBook | Get more from your battery!
Please use plain text.
Developer
KenSalmon
My Device: Tour