Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

Reply
Trusted Contributor
Sangram
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎03-04-2011
My Device: BB10-Dev Alpha
My Carrier: -

Signing AIR app from commandline

Hi,

 

I have previously signed Blackberry Playbook apps with earlier signing version.

 

Now I applied for the signing keys and got two key files client-PBDT-XXXX.csj and client-RDK-XXXX.csj. I am confused as which csj file I should use for signing and publihsing the app on Appworld?

 

I guess the blogs/posts mention the older approach for siging the application from command line. Where can I find the latest siging process? If I am correct, would the following sequence sign the AIR app from command line even with current signing?

 

blackberry-signer -csksetup -cskpass <Pass_1>

 

blackberry-signer -register -csjpin <PinNumber> -cskpass Pass_1 bin\client-RDK-XXX.csj

 

blackberry-keytool -genkeypair -keystore XXXXX.p12 -storepass <Pass_2> -dname "cn=Sangram" -alias author

 

blackberry-signer -verbose -cskpass Pass_1 -keystore XXXXX.p12 -storepass <Pass_2> AppName.bar RDK

 

blackberry-signer -keystore XXXXX.p12 -storepass <Pass_2> AppName.bar author

 

Sangram

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
elena_laskavaia
Posts: 417
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: PlayBook

Re: Signing AIR app from commandline

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
Sangram
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎03-04-2011
My Device: BB10-Dev Alpha
My Carrier: -

Re: Signing AIR app from commandline

Thanks elena_laskavaia.

 

So I am supposed to use client-RDK-XXX.csj file for signing the application and the signing process is the same as before with some modifications as four digit version number. And I should use client-PBDT-XXX.csj file for creating dubug token.

 

Sangram

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
elena_laskavaia
Posts: 417
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: PlayBook

Re: Signing AIR app from commandline

If you register before you must not do it again, because you will loose your signing identify, and your existing apps won't be upgradable
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
Sangram
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎03-04-2011
My Device: BB10-Dev Alpha
My Carrier: -

Re: Signing AIR app from commandline

Is that the case?

 

First time I installed the keys on shared workstation but now I want to register it on my personal laptop. What be the result if now I register another key on my laptop and sign next apps using that key? Can I still sign previous app using previous registered keys?

 

If it holds true that we can only sign using same machine nad same signing key, what should we do in case the desktop is crashed and we have to format the system? we won't be able to upgrade the app in future?

 

Sangram

Please use plain text.
Developer
CoCopia
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎05-03-2011
My Device: PlayBook V1 and proud of it :-)
My Carrier: Legs

Re: Signing AIR app from commandline

Hi follow this link on how to do this

 

Backup and Restore Keys

Keep the Forum productive and useful for all. Click Kudos button if I've helped you. Select Solved to help everyone.

PlayBook qualifying app - Pandoras' Lights
Blog - CoCopia.co.uk Catch me on Twitter cocopia_apps
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
Sangram
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎03-04-2011
My Device: BB10-Dev Alpha
My Carrier: -

Re: Signing AIR app from commandline

Thanks Cocopia for the valuable information, I wasn't aware of it.

 

If suppose I back up the required files, can I use the same files again on another computer? Won't it create any problmes for siging new apps as well signing previous apps but on different computer?

 

Sangram

Please use plain text.
Administrator
MSohm
Posts: 14,528
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, BlackBerry PlayBook
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Signing AIR app from commandline

You can "restore" your keys to multiple computers and use them simultaneously.  There is no issue there.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.