Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

Reply
Developer
jtegen
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

away3d on simulator?

Has anyone been able to get away3d to run on the simulator?  Works fine as an AIR application.

Please use plain text.
Developer
JRab
Posts: 2,462
Registered: ‎11-04-2010
My Device: Bold 9700

Re: away3d on simulator?

hey jtegen,

 

i found this link and it may be of some assitance:

 

http://na.isobar.com/2010/blackberry-tablet-away3d-animation-programming/

 

i have yet to dive into that part of the animiation world just yet. but when i do ill update you on my findings! good luck!

J. Rab (Blog) (Twitter)
--
1. If you liked my post or found it useful please click on the thumbs up and provide a Like!
2. If my post solved your problem please click on the Accept as Solution button. Much appreciated!

Approved Apps: OnTrack | ssShots | Hangman
Please use plain text.
Developer
udik
Posts: 136
Registered: ‎03-04-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: away3d on simulator?

 

Was able to install and run one of the away3d demos on the PB, looks nice but performance is horrible comparing to running the swf strandalone on my laptio... anyone any ideas.. is this the end game... I guess I need to wait and test performance on the actual device :smileyhappy: auch

 

Udi

Please use plain text.
Developer
jtegen
Posts: 6,541
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: away3d on simulator?

Did you have graphics acceleration turned on for the VMware simulator?

 

I am hoping in my case (still need to do more testing), that its an asset issue and not an away3d issue.

 

Was your test case with the latest release of away3d?

Please use plain text.
Developer
udik
Posts: 136
Registered: ‎03-04-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: away3d on simulator?

 

Thanks for the prompt response,

 

Yes h/w acceleration is on, still its very choppy, the other concern is that the objects seem to float outside the frame ..

 

I am referring to the spitfire demo, I took it as-is from away3d website, compiled and ran. I did have to look for the away3d.swc lib as for some reason (auch) it wasn't in the packaged example. But as I said it works perfectly as standalone swf on my laptop, even when dragging the swf to IE or Firefox, but bad on the PB.

 

If/when you have a chance to compile and run it and let me know your experience that would be great - it seems that the away3d is cool quick way to create 3d stuff... I am a newbe to 3D so I may be missing some references. just want to be sure it will hold water on the PB.

 

 

Bye,

Udi

Please use plain text.