Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Adobe AIR Development

Visitor
jacdx
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: AT&T

lack of current AIR support will hurt BB10

Hi,

I'm a developer interested in porting my AIR apps to BB10. Blackberry would be included with the others that I'm targeting from AIR, but the problem is, I'm using the latest AIR features for performance (3.5 currently). I can say that without the ability to target the current version of AIR, including BB in my crossplatform development won't happen. It'd take too much work  (not cost effective) to port and user experience isn't as good (AIR performance gets better with each release). Allowing a captive runtime like Android does would solve this problem and remove Blackberry as the bottleneck in the process.

AIR is not a mature enough technology to let it stagnate for several versions. 3.1 is ancient. Building an app on 3.1 at this point would be a dead-end on other platforms. AIR is rapidly evolving and staying on top of it is necessary for my apps to be competetive. I can target iOS, Android, Kindle and Nook and would like to include BB but can't realistically do so.

I registered just to say this.

Please use plain text.
Developer
shawnblais
My Device: Not Specified

Re: lack of current AIR support will hurt BB10

[ Edited ]

Same here.

All our old apps are being ported over, but all future apps and games are being built on top of Stage3D, meaning BB10 support is off the table.

We will have a large suite of awesome apps and games, ready to go with the push of a button, as soon as RIM is kind enough to upgrade the AIR runtime.

Please use plain text.
Developer
pyth
My Device: My Trusty Red Plane
My Carrier: Outer Space