Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Android™ Runtime Development

Reply
New Developer
Keti
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎01-07-2010
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: Rogers
Accepted Solution

Android runtime and BB10 model question

Hi,

 

I have Android app that works fine on Blackberry Playbook.

Depending on the Build.MODEL value from Android SDK, I display a message to the user regarding the device model.

For Blackberry Playbook, Build.MODEL returns "BlackBerry Runtime for Android apps".

At the moment, I have difficulties to run BB10 simulator to test what value is returned by BB10 device so that i can display the proper message.

 

Does anyone know what Build.MODEL returns on Blackberry 10? Is it the same as on Playbook?

 

Thanks.

Katerina

Please use plain text.
Developer
Chambras
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎02-04-2012
My Device: BlackBerry PlayBook
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: Android runtime and BB10 model question

In my dev alpha device I get "10 Dev Alpha"  when I get the Build.MODEL

Please use plain text.
New Developer
Keti
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎01-07-2010
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Android runtime and BB10 model question

Thanks.

Please use plain text.
Developer
Blackmoe
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎07-16-2012
My Device: Playbook, Z10, Z30
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Android runtime and BB10 model question

Does anyone know what the Z10 returns?

 

Also is the manufacturer field updated to BlackBerry yet or is it still RIM as on the dev alpha?

Please use plain text.
Contributor
jonathan2708
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎02-02-2013
My Device: None - developer using simulator
My Carrier: O2

Re: Android runtime and BB10 model question

My app is returning the following for the Z10 :

 

Build.MANUFACTURER = RIM

Build.MODEL = Z10

 

Jonathan 

Please use plain text.
Developer
Blackmoe
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎07-16-2012
My Device: Playbook, Z10, Z30
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Android runtime and BB10 model question

Thanks!

Please use plain text.