Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Android™ Runtime Development

Reply
New Contributor
FredB2013
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-01-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Sunrise

Android to BlackBerry wrong Package Version

Hello,

 

I have an Android application, and I wish to repackage it for BlackBerry. The creation of the .bar file and the signing works fine using the tools integrated in Eclipse (right-click on the project root > BlackBerry Tools > Sign for BlackBerry World).

 

But I noticed that the version used in the manifest.mf file for the Package-Version and Application-Version is wrong (you can open a .bar file in Eclipse with the BlackBerry plug-in, and it will display the manifest.mf file). The version of my Android application is 3.3.0 in the Android Manifest, and the generated Package-Version is 1.0.330.0.

I already have some releases on BlackBerry World with version 3.x.x, so I can't upload this .bar file because the version is smaller than the other available packages. Does anyone of you know why the version looks like this and how to fix this?

 

Thank you for your help,

Fred

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
FredB2013
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-01-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Sunrise

Re: Android to BlackBerry wrong Package Version

Is anyone able to help me with this issue?

 

Thanks a lot,

Fred

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
FredB2013
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-01-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Sunrise

Re: Android to BlackBerry wrong Package Version

There is realy noone able to help me with this?

If you need any additional information, feel free to ask. I would like to publish this app as soon as possible...

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
jjasmann
Posts: 264
Registered: ‎01-08-2013
My Device: BlackBerry 10 Dev Alpha B
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Android to BlackBerry wrong Package Version

Hey FredB2013,

 

There is a conversion done to the Android version numbers in order to gernerate a consistent version format.

 

Depending on the size of your version code, it should be:

 

1.0.<versionCode>.0

 

Is the other release you've put on App World an Android version?

 

    Justin

Justin Jasmann | Android Application Development Consultant
Developer Relations
developer.blackberry.com
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
FredB2013
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-01-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Sunrise

Re: Android to BlackBerry wrong Package Version

Hello,

Thank you for your answer.

My version code is 3 chars length (330), and the generated version is indeed 1.0.330.0.
The other releases are using the correct Android version number (for example 3.2.5 or 3.2.0).

Fred
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
FredB2013
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-01-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Sunrise

Re: Android to BlackBerry wrong Package Version

Hello,

Do you have any idea about how I can fix this? Is there a workaround?

Thank you,
Fred
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
jjasmann
Posts: 264
Registered: ‎01-08-2013
My Device: BlackBerry 10 Dev Alpha B
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Android to BlackBerry wrong Package Version

Hi FredB2013,

 

Could you point me to your app on App World? I wasn't aware that it was even possible to create a version of an Android app that's not in the format of 1.0.versionCode.0.

 

    Justin

Justin Jasmann | Android Application Development Consultant
Developer Relations
developer.blackberry.com
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
FredB2013
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-01-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Sunrise

Re: Android to BlackBerry wrong Package Version

Hi,

I sent you some information in a private message. If you need anything else to solve this issue, feel free to ask.

Thank you for your help,
Fred
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
jjasmann
Posts: 264
Registered: ‎01-08-2013
My Device: BlackBerry 10 Dev Alpha B
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Android to BlackBerry wrong Package Version

Here's a copy of my answer for others on the board:

 

"This is expected. There's a difference between a native application's version number and an Android application version number.

 

We've employed a technique to better formulate the Android versionName/versionCode scheme to make it more consistent for our platform. There isn't currently a way to arrage versions so that the two differently targeted application's use a single format."

 

    Justin

Justin Jasmann | Android Application Development Consultant
Developer Relations
developer.blackberry.com
Please use plain text.