Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Android™ Runtime Development

Reply
New Developer
Treadpole
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-21-2012
My Device: Blackberry 10 Alpha Device
My Carrier: Vodaphone

Re: Developers Start here!

Hi I am a new developer. Thought I would log in to the forum to check support.

Please use plain text.
Developer
moniko17
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎08-23-2012
My Device: Javelin 8900
My Carrier: Axis

Re: Developers Start here!

yes I interested about this forum because for sharing knowledge and expertise
Please use plain text.
New Developer
Noureen
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-24-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Playbook Android
My Carrier: BlackBerry

Re: Developers Start here!

yes i  interested in this post.. and please help me out in solving my problem :smileysad:

Hi!
  I am trying to set the volume of BB Playbook in android through audio manager using SeekBar but the volume of device is not changing. however if i try to get the current volume of system (BB Palybook) it shows me the correct volume but when i try to set the volume through seekBar it did not works. here is my code :

 

import android.media.AudioManager;

this is the import for audioManager

 

AudioManager audioManager;

this is the audioManager variable

 

seekbar.setOnSeekBarChangeListener(new OnSeekBarChangeListener() {

public void onStopTrackingTouch(SeekBar seekBar) {
// TODO Auto-generated method stub

}

public void onStartTrackingTouch(SeekBar seekBar) {
// TODO Auto-generated method stub

}

public void onProgressChanged(SeekBar seekBar, int progress,boolean fromUser) {
// TODO Auto-generated method stub

audioManager.setStreamVolume(AudioManager.STREAM_MUSIC, progress, 0 );


}

 

});

 

Please if anyone have solution to this problem. what i think that this happens due to BB security restrictions. Is that so??

Please use plain text.
New Developer
Neurofluid
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-26-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Developers Start here!

Hi All!

 

Krys Wallbank of Neurofluid Interactive Software Inc.

 

Long-time developer of iOS and Android apps and am now moving into Blackberry Apps.

 

Web: neurofluid.com

Facebook: Neurofluid

Twitter: Neurofluid

Please use plain text.
New Developer
skaplun
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-01-2012
My Device: Blackberry Z10 Le
My Carrier: Movistar AR

Re: Developers Start here!

Hi,

 

I am replying as requested.

-----
Knowing the user experience is the best way to develop the best apps.
Please use plain text.
Developer
swayamism
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎10-08-2012
My Device: Non-BlackBerry User
My Carrier: AirTel

Starting Development in BlackBerry

I am a mobile application developer and have pretty decent experience in Windows Phone application development and Android. Now, I want to start developing for Blackberry also.

Going through the offcial BlackBerry website, I came to know it is possible to port my existing Android applications to Blackberry 10 and BlackBerry Playbook by using the various Runtime for Android appstools.

My question : What is preferable? Should I develop applications for Blackberry using the standardBlackberry Java SDK or is it okay to make my applications on Android and then just repackage them for BlackBerry-10 and BlackBerry Playbook? I am aware of the fact that some of the Android applications might not be compatible with BlackBerry, such as pacakges that rely on Google Maps or Android's Text-to-Speech Engine, but right now I am not planning to use them in my apps for Blackberry.

Given my knowledge in programming, I guess I have three options :

  1. Build using the C/C++ NDK
  2. Build Applications on Android and then later repackage them for BlackBerry
  3. Build using BlackBerry Java (Mobile Edition)

Which is the most preferable one and convenient one ?

I am very comfortable in Android but have no knowledge in J2ME. Hence, I thought that instead of learning to make my way around the UI in J2ME, I would just do it in Android and repackage it for Blackberry. Would that be the correct way of doing it ?

Please use plain text.
New Developer
Noureen
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-24-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Playbook Android
My Carrier: BlackBerry

Re: Starting Development in BlackBerry

if you are trying to port Android app on Blackberry then its prefferable to use existing androiid developement enviroment. develope an app and then after port it to blackberry.
 and yes its true that some packages are not availabe in android to handle BB but if you are okay with that then there is no problem to use android developement for BB.

Please use plain text.
Developer
swayamism
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎10-08-2012
My Device: Non-BlackBerry User
My Carrier: AirTel

Re: Starting Development in BlackBerry

Thank you very much for the reply. The thing is that I am entirely new to the concept of J2ME and I believe it would take me a while to make myself familiar with the UI controls. So I am planning to develop for Android and then port it over to  BlackBerry. I hope that is fine and not discouraged by the BlackBerry developer community.

Please use plain text.
New Developer
imanuelnugroho
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎10-21-2012
My Device: BB 10 Dev Alpha Developer
My Carrier: XL

Re: Developers Start here!

Nice!
Hope to get along with you guys :smileyvery-happy:

Please use plain text.
New Developer
NiceSight
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-11-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Developers Start here!

Hi everybody!

 

I'm an Android developer, intrested in porting my apps on Blackberry. 
My first port was "Fortune Teller" and I like the semplicity and linearity of porting. 


I'm here to learn something new and hope I'll be in Milan for Hackaton '12 :smileyhappy:

Please use plain text.