Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Android™ Runtime Development

Reply
New Contributor
mercraus
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-05-2012
My Device: Playbook Simulator
My Carrier: AT&T
Accepted Solution

Eclipse Won't Accept Path to BlackBerry Tools SDK

First let me say that I'm operating under the assumption that the Command Line Tools and the BlackBerry Tools SDK are the same thing. Please correct me if I'm wrong and point me to the correct download. If this is correct though, then here's my isssue:

 

I have the BlackBerry Tools SDK extraced, to a folder with no spaces. Then in Eclipse, I go to the Window->Preferences->Blackberry->Blackberry Tools SDK Menu. The only option here is to put in the path to the SDK folder. Well I put in the path, and it checks out okay at first, but nothing works in the two submenus. If I close the Preferences menu and return, it finally shows an error on the path saying: "The currently displayed page contains invalid values"

 

I don't know what could be invalid in the path, everything seems like it should work. Please help.

 

FYI: Eclipse 3.7.1, Sun JDK 6, Android SDK r16 Windows, Android SDK Tools Rev 16, Android API 10 (2.3.3), and Android ADT 16.0.1 installed

Please use plain text.
Developer
Smugrik
Posts: 185
Registered: ‎04-05-2011
My Device: PlayBook
My Carrier: Bouygues Telecom

Re: Eclipse Won't Accept Path to BlackBerry Tools SDK

Yes, you should put the path to the command line tools directory.

Could you please post what you put in the path?

Julien
Web: smugrik.org Follow: @Smugrik
PlayBook apps:
OSCream
kiPass
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
mercraus
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-05-2012
My Device: Playbook Simulator
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Eclipse Won't Accept Path to BlackBerry Tools SDK

Path I setup is C:/Android/blackberry.tools.SDK
Please use plain text.
Developer
Smugrik
Posts: 185
Registered: ‎04-05-2011
My Device: PlayBook
My Carrier: Bouygues Telecom

Re: Eclipse Won't Accept Path to BlackBerry Tools SDK

seems ok, make sure the dots aren't an issue...

Julien
Web: smugrik.org Follow: @Smugrik
PlayBook apps:
OSCream
kiPass
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
mercraus
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-05-2012
My Device: Playbook Simulator
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Eclipse Won't Accept Path to BlackBerry Tools SDK

Tried removing the dots, still doesnt work. Any other suggestions?

Please use plain text.
Developer
Smugrik
Posts: 185
Registered: ‎04-05-2011
My Device: PlayBook
My Carrier: Bouygues Telecom

Re: Eclipse Won't Accept Path to BlackBerry Tools SDK

OK, I think this has nothing to do with that particular setting, Eclipse sometimes has strange bugs, maybe try creating a new workspace for eclipse, and see if the error appears again.

Julien
Web: smugrik.org Follow: @Smugrik
PlayBook apps:
OSCream
kiPass
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
mercraus
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-05-2012
My Device: Playbook Simulator
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Eclipse Won't Accept Path to BlackBerry Tools SDK

Ok, so it turns out that it's not the path, it's just the "Bar Signer" screen under the "Blackberry Tools SDK" option that's having the issue. None of the wizards will launch and most of the buttons don't work.

 

I tried creating a new workspace but that didn't work. I think it might be a bug in the plugin, anyone else having the same problem?

 

Side note: I've been using the Command Line Tools directly since the Eclipse plugin isn't working. They work great, but I'd still like to get the Eclipse plugin working for convienence.

Please use plain text.
New Developer
adamleaf8601
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎02-06-2012
My Device: Blackberry Playbook 16GB
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Eclipse Won't Accept Path to BlackBerry Tools SDK

Please tell me where u downloaded Blackberry tools sdk
Please use plain text.
New Developer
adamleaf8601
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎02-06-2012
My Device: Blackberry Playbook 16GB
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Eclipse Won't Accept Path to BlackBerry Tools SDK

Please tell me where to download Blackberry tools sdk

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
mercraus
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-05-2012
My Device: Playbook Simulator
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Eclipse Won't Accept Path to BlackBerry Tools SDK

Just download the command line tools from here, they're the same thing: https://bdsc.webapps.blackberry.com/android/tool/

Please use plain text.