Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Android™ Runtime Development

Reply
Developer
SumiGhosh
Posts: 435
Registered: ‎09-20-2011
My Device: Z10 LE, Playbook, DevAlpha C, 9900, 9380
My Carrier: Vodafone

GPS support for BB10 DevAlpha

Hi all,

Is DevAlpha supports GPS.

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
mwhiteman
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎11-21-2008
My Device: BlackBerry 10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: GPS support for BB10 DevAlpha

Hello,

 

Yes, the BlackBerry 10 Dev Alpha supports GPS.

 

Cheers

 

Matt Whiteman
Product Manager, Android, BlackBerry Java & Simulators
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
satpal2006
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-27-2012
My Device: BB 10
My Carrier: Blacberry

Re: GPS support for BB10 DevAlpha

Is there any API to check GPS available or not ?

Please use plain text.
Developer
mzex
Posts: 368
Registered: ‎06-30-2012
My Device: Playbook, Z10LE, DevAlpha C
My Carrier: Telenor, Mobitel

Re: GPS support for BB10 DevAlpha

Since you are asking this into Android player section of forum, i assume that you are asking hot to work with GPS in Android for BB. There are numerous examples on net hot to use and read GPS on Android, and that is all working on Playbook or BB10.

Please use plain text.
Developer
neilhogg69
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎05-11-2012
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Vodacom

Re: GPS support for BB10 DevAlpha

I'm having problems with the GPS. When I run my code on android the location is found every time via triangulation but when I run it on BB10 it works like 1 out of 10 times or less. Does anyone know if this is a device issue or a software issue on the Runtime Environment?

Please use plain text.
Contributor
iLect_1
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎12-19-2011
My Device: 9300
My Carrier: Mascom

Re: GPS support for BB10 DevAlpha

I also have the same problem..i did a GPS based BB10 app but it doesnt show the map!

Please use plain text.
Developer
neilhogg69
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎05-11-2012
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Vodacom

Re: GPS support for BB10 DevAlpha

This is because google maps aren't supported by blackberry. You'll have to use Bing maps or Blackberry maps. Still doesn't explain why I can't get my location via the android location api. It works at times but almost never finds my locatioin...

Please use plain text.
Contributor
INTELLECTG
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎03-01-2012
My Device: BB10 Dev Alpha
My Carrier: Mascom

Re: GPS support for BB10 DevAlpha

I used the default map view sample app so i expected it to work as i wasnt using google maps

Please use plain text.
Contributor
yannerz
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-28-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: Fido

Re: GPS support for BB10 DevAlpha

Same for me, works great on the Playbook but not on DevAlpha. My apps from Port A thon are all being refused because of this.. Playbook asks permission for location but not the DevAlpha

Please use plain text.
Contributor
INTELLECTG
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎03-01-2012
My Device: BB10 Dev Alpha
My Carrier: Mascom

Re: GPS support for BB10 DevAlpha

Well now am not sure if i shud submit my app whilst am not sure if it will show the maps correctly

Please use plain text.