Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Android™ Runtime Development

Reply
Contributor
janot
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-20-2013
My Device: Dev Alpha B

How can I hide “menu” button in android runtime?

[ Edited ]

How can I hide "menu" button in Android Runtime (there is no menu in my android app, but when I run it on BB10 - this button appears (and obviously does nothing when clicked))?

P.S.: Question at Stackoverflow

Please use plain text.
Developer
ndsmyter
Posts: 648
Registered: ‎09-26-2012
My Device: Limited Edition Z10, Playbook 16GB/32GB, Dev Alpha A/B/C

Re: How can I hide “menu” button in android runtime?

You cannot hide that bar, I am afraid. It is all up to the user if it should be hidden or not.

I read on some threads on the Support Forums of BlackBerry that they try to make it possible for developers to hide this bar in the new Jelly Bean update. So for now there is nothing you can do to hide this bar.


A like is always appreciated,
but a nomination for BB Elite even more :-)
You can also contact me on Twitter: @ndsmyter
Please use plain text.
Contributor
janot
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-20-2013
My Device: Dev Alpha B

Re: How can I hide “menu” button in android runtime?

[ Edited ]

I want to hide not the whole bar, but only "menu" button.

 

Of course I understand that there is probably no solution at this moment, but maybe at least someone from Blackberry will look here and they'll implement it...

Please use plain text.
Developer
ndsmyter
Posts: 648
Registered: ‎09-26-2012
My Device: Limited Edition Z10, Playbook 16GB/32GB, Dev Alpha A/B/C

Re: How can I hide “menu” button in android runtime?

As you will probably know as a developer yourself, "look here and they'll implement it" is a lot to ask. There are different stages in development. And before such a change will be available to us, a lot of time will have been spent on several aspects of that one button (design, implement, test etcetera).

So the only thing that remains: patience :-)


A like is always appreciated,
but a nomination for BB Elite even more :-)
You can also contact me on Twitter: @ndsmyter
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
imre_m
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎11-17-2010
My Device: PlayBook, Z10, Q10

Re: How can I hide “menu” button in android runtime?

Hi,

 

I think that would be a feature request what you may submit to the developer jira and BB will eventually consider it: https://www.blackberry.com/jira

 

BR,

Imre

--
If you find this post useful please Like it.
If it solves your problem please mark as solution.
Please use plain text.
Developer
ndsmyter
Posts: 648
Registered: ‎09-26-2012
My Device: Limited Edition Z10, Playbook 16GB/32GB, Dev Alpha A/B/C

Re: How can I hide “menu” button in android runtime?

I guess that because I read similar questions on the forum, that it will already be submitted somewhere.


A like is always appreciated,
but a nomination for BB Elite even more :-)
You can also contact me on Twitter: @ndsmyter
Please use plain text.