Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Android™ Runtime Development

Reply
New Developer
abidfs
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎03-11-2013
My Device: Q10
Accepted Solution

Is it possible to Invoke BB10 core application from BB android runtime?

Hello All, I am trying to invoke BB10 core application from Android application, but getting error saying "action not supported".

Here is the code to launch the BB AppWorld from Android app

 

Uri uri = Uri.parse("appworld://");

Intent intent = new Intent(Intent.ACTION_VIEW, uri);

startActivity(intent);

this works fine. But when I replace "appworld://" with the Uri of some native app, it shows me ERROR.

 

Waiting for your reply.

Thanks in advance

 - Abid

Developer
ndsmyter
Posts: 648
Registered: ‎09-26-2012
My Device: Limited Edition Z10, Playbook 16GB/32GB, Dev Alpha A/B/C

Re: Is it possible to Invoke BB10 core application from BB android runtime?

Which app are you trying to contact? Because some apps are not supported yet iirc


A like is always appreciated,
but a nomination for BB Elite even more :-)
You can also contact me on Twitter: @ndsmyter
New Developer
abidfs
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎03-11-2013
My Device: Q10

Re: Is it possible to Invoke BB10 core application from BB android runtime?

Hey thanks for the reply

 

I have my own BB10 core app, and I want to invoke the same application from my Android app. Is it possible ?

 

 

Thanks

 - Abid

Developer
ndsmyter
Posts: 648
Registered: ‎09-26-2012
My Device: Limited Edition Z10, Playbook 16GB/32GB, Dev Alpha A/B/C

Re: Is it possible to Invoke BB10 core application from BB android runtime?

As far as I know, this should be possible. But I actually don't know the fine details about it on how you can do this.
I hope somebody else can help you soon.

Maybe you can search https://developer.blackberry.com/android/ for more information


A like is always appreciated,
but a nomination for BB Elite even more :-)
You can also contact me on Twitter: @ndsmyter
BlackBerry Development Advisor
bbenninger
Posts: 130
Registered: ‎04-19-2013
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: Is it possible to Invoke BB10 core application from BB android runtime?

Only certain system applications can be launched this way from Android.  Launching to a 3rd party native application from Android is currently not supported.

New Developer
abidfs
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎03-11-2013
My Device: Q10

Re: Is it possible to Invoke BB10 core application from BB android runtime?

How to??

 

Thanks

 - Abid

New Contributor
erhmee
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-07-2014
My Device: 9900

Re: Is it possible to Invoke BB10 core application from BB android runtime?

You can obviously call the browser and give a url. 

 

startActivity(new Intent(
Intent.ACTION_VIEW,
Uri.parse("market://details?id="
+ application_name)));

 

Above can invoke blackberry world.  However, this doesn't display the homepage of your application, it simply invokes blackberry world and fills the search panel with application name. If you give specific application name, it will search them and display your application as a search result.

 

Hope it helps people 

BlackBerry Development Advisor
bbenninger
Posts: 130
Registered: ‎04-19-2013
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: Is it possible to Invoke BB10 core application from BB android runtime?

FYI you can also invoke BlackBerry World using the appworld:// uri, and you can use all of hooks native apps use similarly (i.e. to launch directly to your app, etc).