Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Android™ Runtime Development

Reply
Contributor
krthk123
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎05-06-2011
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: Tata Docomo

Registration ID for push in BB10 android runtime

I have made the changes for porting my android app to BB10 as explained here. It talks about the registration Ids from Google and blackberry. I am confused whether I have to make any code changes to receive 8 character Id or is it automatically handled by the runtime.

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Registration ID for push in BB10 android runtime

You don't need to change the item ID used in your application, but you do need to create those same items in the BlackBerry vendor portal.

 

The only code changes you need to be aware of:

1) Only IAB version 2 is supported, if using version 3 you will need to swap that out

2) Responses are not signed. There is an example of how you can skip checking the signature when running on BlackBerry here:

https://developer.blackberry.com/android/apisupport/apisupport_inapp_payments_support.html

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
Contributor
krthk123
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎05-06-2011
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: Tata Docomo

Re: Registration ID for push in BB10 android runtime

Hi,

 

Thanks for the reply . But I am not using in app payment in my app. I had asked the question about enabling push.

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Registration ID for push in BB10 android runtime

Ah sorry, I was answering a string of payment questions and kept going with this thread :smileysad:

 

The CFG file you add to your app will have the BlackBerry App ID required for push hard-coded. You will need to apply for this app ID in the EVAL environment then again to move to production:

https://www.blackberry.com/profile/?eventId=8121

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
Developer
tommy20
Posts: 251
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
My Device: Curve 9300, BB10 Dev Alpha C, Z10

Re: Registration ID for push in BB10 android runtime

Hi gbeukeboom,

krthk123 is talking about how to get the Registration ID which contains 8 characters? Can you answer this question?
--tom
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Registration ID for push in BB10 android runtime

The account ID for BlackBerry is longer than 8 characters. My last post explained how to get it.

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
Developer
tommy20
Posts: 251
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
My Device: Curve 9300, BB10 Dev Alpha C, Z10

Re: Registration ID for push in BB10 android runtime

Your last post explained how to register for an App ID and ppgurl to be used for push-apps.
--tom
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Registration ID for push in BB10 android runtime

Can you clarify what you're after? The original post is a few months old...

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
Developer
tommy20
Posts: 251
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
My Device: Curve 9300, BB10 Dev Alpha C, Z10

Re: Registration ID for push in BB10 android runtime

But we need to know how to get the Device-Push-Registration ID when the app is trying to register for push.
--tom
Please use plain text.
Developer
tommy20
Posts: 251
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
My Device: Curve 9300, BB10 Dev Alpha C, Z10

Re: Registration ID for push in BB10 android runtime

<tokenprefix>bb-</tokenprefix> which we expect to get "bb-blah-blah", how to get this?
--tom
Please use plain text.