Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Android™ Runtime Development

Developer
swayamism
My Device: Non-BlackBerry User
My Carrier: AirTel

Starting Development in BlackBerry

I am a mobile application developer and have pretty decent experience in Windows Phone application development and Android. Now, I want to start developing for Blackberry also.

Going through the offcial BlackBerry website, I came to know it is possible to port my existing Android applications to Blackberry 10 and BlackBerry Playbook by using the various Runtime for Android apps tools.

My question : What is preferable? Should I develop applications for Blackberry using the standard Blackberry Java SDK or is it okay to make my applications on Android and then just repackage them for BlackBerry-10 and BlackBerry Playbook? I am aware of the fact that some of the Android applications might not be compatible with BlackBerry, such as pacakges that rely on Google Maps or Android's Text-to-Speech Engine, but right now I am not planning to use them in my apps for Blackberry.

Given my knowledge in programming, I guess I have three options :

1. Build using the C/C++ NDK
  2. Build Applications on Android and then later repackage them for BlackBerry
  3. Build using BlackBerry Java (Mobile Edition)

Which is the most preferable one and convenient one ?

I am very comfortable in Android but have no knowledge in J2ME. Hence, I thought that instead of learning to make my way around the UI in J2ME, I would just do it in Android and repackage it for Blackberry. Would that be the correct way of doing it ?

Please use plain text.
Contributor
yoYoMe
My Device: NA
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Starting Development in BlackBerry