Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Android™ Runtime Development

Reply
Developer
sblantipodi
Posts: 1,178
Registered: ‎02-19-2009
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

cannot deploy bar file on BB10 simulator.

As title,

I'm trying all the possible method to deploy my bar file to BB10 simulator running on VMware player without any luck.

 

The IP address I use is the one reported from the developer section of the simulated device:
169.254.0.1

 

no luck, I cannot even ping the device from the windows console.

 

Any idea?

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
daryl_martin
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
My Device: N/A
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: cannot deploy bar file on BB10 simulator.

Please use the IP address assigned from VMWare.  If you're using the default settings it should start with 192.168.

 

You can get the IP by looking at the bottom bezel on the far left or go to settings -> about -> Networking. 

Please use plain text.
Developer
sblantipodi
Posts: 1,178
Registered: ‎02-19-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: cannot deploy bar file on BB10 simulator.

I tried also that way before posting but nothing,

I have tried both the IP address but nothing.

 

I can ping the IP address assigned by VMware but I cannot deploy the bar file since the eclipse plugin seems

that can't find the simulator.

 

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
daryl_martin
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
My Device: N/A
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: cannot deploy bar file on BB10 simulator.

You can manually enter the IP address instead of using the autodiscovery capabilities.  This should work for you. 

Please use plain text.
Developer
sblantipodi
Posts: 1,178
Registered: ‎02-19-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: cannot deploy bar file on BB10 simulator.


daryl_martin wrote:

You can manually enter the IP address instead of using the autodiscovery capabilities.  This should work for you. 


Obviously I tried that, it not works.

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
daryl_martin
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
My Device: N/A
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: cannot deploy bar file on BB10 simulator.

If you're connected to a VPN it may cause issues connecting to the simulator. 

 

Could you try rebooting the simulator in bridged mode?  You can change this under the network option in your virtual machine settings.  This will put the simulator on your physcial network card so you don't have to go through the NAT, which could be causing you problems. 

 

Also are you able to telnet/ftp to the simulator?  You can login as devuser/devuser. 

Please use plain text.
Developer
sblantipodi
Posts: 1,178
Registered: ‎02-19-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: cannot deploy bar file on BB10 simulator.

[ Edited ]

Thanks for the help, I tried it but it doesn't helped...

the strange things is that I can ping the virtual machine...

Please use plain text.
Developer
sblantipodi
Posts: 1,178
Registered: ‎02-19-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: cannot deploy bar file on BB10 simulator.

after various try, I succeded with bridged network using blackberry graphical aid.

Please use plain text.