Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BBM for BlackBerry

Reply
Contributor
ameysdhaygude
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎10-11-2011
My Device: Blackberry Bold 9000
My Carrier: Airtel
Accepted Solution

BBM for Android/ iOs Vs BBM for Blackberry, From BIS Perspective

Now that blackberry has launched BBM for both android & iOs users, they have a distinct advantage over native blackberry users. they dont need BIS to use BBM. this is kind of unfair for blackberry users as android & iOs users can use BBM on any simple data plan, whereas BB users must have a BIS data plan in place. cost wise there is significant difference between regular data plans & blackberry data plans. blackberry users have to spend on expensive BIS data plans for BBM, whereas android & iOs users can run it on simple data plans without BIS.

 

Its Something thats bothering me. :smileyfrustrated:

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,148
Likes: 23,024
Solutions: 5,924
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: BBM for Android/ iOs Vs BBM for Blackberry, From BIS Perspective

Yes, BIS is required on the older BBOS devices as you have read in the previous thread where you have also posted.

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/BlackBerry-Bold/How-to-connect-to-BBM-through-wi-fi-without-a...

 

There is no workaround. BIS is required for your device, as a data plan is required for Android and iOS devices as well.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
jackasir
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-03-2013
My Device: torch 9860
My Carrier: aircel

Re: BBM for Android/ iOs Vs BBM for Blackberry, From BIS Perspective

Then throw old blackberry device to garbage, and buy new iphones and android this only going help us....for older os users :/
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,148
Likes: 23,024
Solutions: 5,924
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: BBM for Android/ iOs Vs BBM for Blackberry, From BIS Perspective

Brilliant.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
jackasir
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-03-2013
My Device: torch 9860
My Carrier: aircel

Re: BBM for Android/ iOs Vs BBM for Blackberry, From BIS Perspective

:/ good customer satizfication
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,148
Likes: 23,024
Solutions: 5,924
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: BBM for Android/ iOs Vs BBM for Blackberry, From BIS Perspective

What you're contending is just blatantly incorrect. IOS & Android require paid data plans same as legacy BlackBerry devices.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
ameysdhaygude
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎10-11-2011
My Device: Blackberry Bold 9000
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: BBM for Android/ iOs Vs BBM for Blackberry, From BIS Perspective

I agree with you Jsanders that data plans are required. but it is more about the flexibility that other OS platforms offer as compared to blackberry.

 

being a native BB user, why should I need to have BIS to use BBM, while other OS users dont? why i cannot run it on a normal data plan?

 

Amey

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,148
Likes: 23,024
Solutions: 5,924
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: BBM for Android/ iOs Vs BBM for Blackberry, From BIS Perspective

You can. On new BlackBerrys on BB10.

 

Guess what? You buy an old 1970s car, and it will allow LEADED gasoline.

Things change.

 

Legacy BlackBerrys require BIS. Period.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
ameysdhaygude
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎10-11-2011
My Device: Blackberry Bold 9000
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: BBM for Android/ iOs Vs BBM for Blackberry, From BIS Perspective

Well, In that case i appreciate BB for the change they brought in BB10, even though its late.

I'll surely try it on BB10.
Please use plain text.