Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
Contributor
robertach
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎04-19-2011
My Device: Torch 9800
Accepted Solution

Shortcut to Vibrate Mode?

[ Edited ]

Is there a quick way to place the phone into Vibrate mode only quickly, like when entering a restaurant or theatre?

 

I was able to do this quickly in the Torch 9800 by touching the speaker icon and select Vibrate.

 

Thanks, Bob

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,660
Likes: 23,098
Solutions: 5,951
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Z10 Tips, Tricks and Shortcuts

I don't know if there is, have you looked at BlackBerry World to see if there is a third party which might automate this process?




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
robertach
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎04-19-2011
My Device: Torch 9800

Re: Z10 Tips, Tricks and Shortcuts

Thanks but nothing in there yet.:No:

 

Bob

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
greggov
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎02-05-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: Shortcut to Vibrate Mode?

There is...if you mainly go between Normal and Vibrate Only.

 

Go into settings and then notifications. Change the drop down to Vibrate Only.

 

Now on homescreen when you swipe down if you touch the notification icon it will toggle between Normal or Vibrate.

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,660
Likes: 23,098
Solutions: 5,951
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Shortcut to Vibrate Mode?

[ Edited ]

Ohhh, I like that. Good tip, thanks, .




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
robertach
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎04-19-2011
My Device: Torch 9800

Re: Shortcut to Vibrate Mode?

Wow, thanks for that great tip!

 

I'm liking this BlackBerry Z10 more everyday. The best yet.

 

Bob :Clap:

Please use plain text.
Contributor
robertach
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎04-19-2011
My Device: Torch 9800

Re: Shortcut to Vibrate Mode?

I also just realized thet when putting the phone in Nighttime mode, it stops all audible notifications which would also be acceptable when entering a theatre or restaurant. The phone just doesn't vibrate to alert you to a new BB Hub message.

 

The Nighttime mode is available by entering the Home screen and swiping down from the top edge. To get out of this mode, just swipe up. Simple.

 

Bob

Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
Rush-O-Matic
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎03-26-2013
My Device: Z10

Re: Shortcut to Vibrate Mode?

Hi. I am new to the Z10, and still having trouble with a number of things that my old BlackBerry would do that the Z10 won't. This is one of them. I can't seem to find where anyone has answered this question, and I am frustrated that I can't find a simple solution. I have spend quite a bit of time searching here and other forums. I think I must be a bad "searcher," because surely there's a better way.

So, if I'm reading this response correctly . . .
- previous BlackBerry, method to switch to vibrate quickly: one button, press and hold, and done.
- Z10 method: enter 'settings', choose 'notififcations', change to 'vibrate', close settings screen ?!?

For a phone that has incorporated so many shortcuts and timesavers, it can't possiby take that many steps to accomplish a feature that has been available on cell phones since the old Nokia candy bar phones.

I realize that I can hold the volume button down, then click it once more to go into vibrate; but then I have to volume up again and try to remember the same number of volume dots I had before.

Please help.
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,660
Likes: 23,098
Solutions: 5,951
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Shortcut to Vibrate Mode?

No, it is easier. I think this is covered in another thread.

 

  • Open your Settings > Notifications only one time, and set to VIBRATE MODE.
  • Your Z10 is in Vibrate mode.
  • To return to NORMAL mode, swipe open your settings screen and ONLY TOUCH the "bell" icon back to normal.
  • To return to Vibrate mode again, only swipe open your settings and only touch the "bell" icon to switch to Vibrate mode.
  • So now, you can easily in two touches, go from normal to vibrate and back and forth (or from any other mode (silent) back to normal.)




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
Rush-O-Matic
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎03-26-2013
My Device: Z10

Re: Shortcut to Vibrate Mode?

Thanks, that certainly helps. (I couldn't find it spelled out like that in another thread, so thank you.) 2 touches is certainly better than than all the other hoops I was jumping through! (But, I wish I could 'program' the mute button to switch to vibrate instead of entering voice commands . . . since 1 is even less than 2.)
Please use plain text.