Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
Contributor
kenyee
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎02-14-2012
My Device: developer
My Carrier: developer

BB10 Alpha B can't connect to wifi?

I couldn't find another forum specifically for BB10 alpha questions, so this was as close as I could get.

 

Anyone ever see a problem where the BB10 Alpha B device can't connect to a wifi router?

It's set to WPA/WPA2 Personal as it should be, but it doesn't seem to take the password.  I verified it and tried it multiple times.

Only slighly unusual thing is the wifi router's name is "Ken's Wifi" but that shouldn't matter...

 

Just trying to get it to the home screen so I can install a test app :-P

 

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,890
Likes: 22,683
Solutions: 5,840
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: BB10 Alpha B can't connect to wifi?

What is the error you see when trying to connect?

 

Can you reset this "Ken's Wifi" router?

Does the router have limitations on the number of devices connected?

 

 




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
kenyee
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎02-14-2012
My Device: developer
My Carrier: developer

Re: BB10 Alpha B can't connect to wifi?

I put in manual wifi:

Connect to: Ken's Router

Security type: WPA/WPA2 Personal

Password: ....  (I click the show password checkbox to make sure it's typed in properly)

 

Yes I can reset it but it makes no difference.  I have multiple devices connected to it w/o issues.

Router doesn't have limitations on #devices.  <10 are connected.

 

Mainly wondering if anyone else has seen this...

 

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,890
Likes: 22,683
Solutions: 5,840
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: BB10 Alpha B can't connect to wifi?

I am not clear if you have actually performed a reset on the router.

How do you know if resetting the router would make no difference, if you haven't done it.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
kenyee
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎02-14-2012
My Device: developer
My Carrier: developer

Re: BB10 Alpha B can't connect to wifi?

Yep.  Reset it again to make sure.  All the other devices reconnected w/o issue.

 

The BB10 Alpha B device says "failed to connect to network" and if you click Details, it goes to that debug screen where you can try pinging something which is fairly useless :-P

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,890
Likes: 22,683
Solutions: 5,840
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: BB10 Alpha B can't connect to wifi?

In that case, I would now delete that WiFi profile, restart the device and then re-add it again




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
kenyee
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎02-14-2012
My Device: developer
My Carrier: developer

Re: BB10 Alpha B can't connect to wifi?

Profile was never saved (it only saves the profile if it actually logs in successfully).

I did reboot the device.

 

I'm going to have to stop by a Starbucks or some other place that has free wifi.  All my neighbors locked theirs down so I can't try theirs :-)

 

It can see other wifi routers, so it's not like the wifi chip is dead.

 

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,890
Likes: 22,683
Solutions: 5,840
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: BB10 Alpha B can't connect to wifi?

That was my next recommendation, a Starbucks or McDonalds usually have open WiFi.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
kenyee
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎02-14-2012
My Device: developer
My Carrier: developer

bricked it w/ the update

So I looked at the logs and it looks like there's a bug in the manual wifi config...no matter what I put in, it was trying to connect w/o any encryption.  Weird.  Seems like something they'd notice before sending it out :-P

 

So I stopped by a starbucks and you know how they have a confirmation screen before you can use it?  I did that, then hit close, and the BB10 Alpha wouldn't download the list of languages for the license agreement because it must have cached the initial attempt when there was no wifi (another bug)-:

 

So I rebooted the device, and it remembered the wifi access point and connected (the confirmation cookie for starbucks was still active) and I finally get to the home screen.

 

I head back home and connect up to my wifi router w/o problems since apparently the dialogs on the desktop work properly but not the setup one.

 

But then there's a 1GB update that's pending.  So I sit and download it.  It downloads it, then I click on the restart button and it puts up a bunch of dialogs about how programs weren't responding (doesn't say which programs) and had to be slayed (another bug).

 

It reboots eventually, gets to that blueish BB logo w/ the cutesy upgrade progress indication, gets to 100% and sits there.  I wait half an hour then reboot it.  It reboots and does the update to 78%, then reboots and upgrades again to 100% and sits there.  I do this two more times to confirm it never finishes.

 

And by "reboot", I mean pull the battery since the power button doesn't seem to do anything (another bug?)

This is even more battery pulls than I remember doing for my old Motorola Cliq :-P

 

So at this point, I think it's pretty bricked.  Any suggestions?

 

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,890
Likes: 22,683
Solutions: 5,840
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: bricked it w/ the update


kenyee wrote:

So at this point, I think it's pretty bricked.  Any suggestions?


Go to this link: https://developer.blackberry.com/blackberry10devalphas/allautoloaders.html

 

Download and install the autoloader file for your model.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.