If you are using Internet Explorer, please remove blackberry.com from your compatibility view settings.

Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
Developer
peardox
Posts: 1,229
Registered: ‎03-20-2011
My Device: Playbook, Z10 LE, Dev Alpha B, 2x Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: 3, Orange, Vodafone

Dev Alpha C Sysinfo display trick

Can't think where else to post this

 

Completely accidental, and fairly pointless, discovery

 

On a DA-C if you swipe down diagonally from the top left you get this floating display of cpu, mem, FPS etc usage

 

Do it again and it turns into a graphical version - got no idea what the lines are for - no legend

 

Tried a screengrab - it doesn't show on the pics :smileysad:

 

Annoyingly, I can't work how to turn it off again short of a reboot ...




Click the like button if you find my posts useful!
Please use plain text.
Developer
interfaSys
Posts: 817
Registered: ‎11-19-2009
My Device: Z10, Q10, 9900, 9790, PlayBook,
My Carrier: T-Mobile UK, Three, O2, Orange, Sunrise, Swisscom

Re: Dev Alpha C Sysinfo display trick

It's the same for all dev alphas. Only works on the home page.

--
Olivier - interfaSys ltd
Developing for BlackBerry 10 devices using the Sencha Touch framework.
Please use plain text.
Developer
peter9477
Posts: 6,473
Registered: ‎12-08-2010
My Device: PlayBook, Z10
My Carrier: none

Re: Dev Alpha C Sysinfo display trick

If you do the swipes on the home page, you should be able to swipe once more to change to a graph, then once again to disable it. It cycles through the three states, but the gesture works only on the home page (and maybe the icon pages).

See also this page I made with some detail on it. http://pastebin.com/SnGqdWnZ

Peter Hansen -- (BB10 and dev-related blog posts at http://peterhansen.ca.)
Author of White Noise and Battery Guru for BB10 and for PlayBook | Get more from your battery!
Please use plain text.
Developer
peardox
Posts: 1,229
Registered: ‎03-20-2011
My Device: Playbook, Z10 LE, Dev Alpha B, 2x Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: 3, Orange, Vodafone

Re: Dev Alpha C Sysinfo display trick

Never noticed it on my A so thought it was a C thing




Click the like button if you find my posts useful!
Please use plain text.
Developer
peter9477
Posts: 6,473
Registered: ‎12-08-2010
My Device: PlayBook, Z10
My Carrier: none

Re: Dev Alpha C Sysinfo display trick

It's only in certain builds. Don't count on it sticking around in the C either, since it was removed from the latest A/B builds as far as I know.

Peter Hansen -- (BB10 and dev-related blog posts at http://peterhansen.ca.)
Author of White Noise and Battery Guru for BB10 and for PlayBook | Get more from your battery!
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
nzcoderguy
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎12-18-2012
My Device: n/a
My Carrier: 2 Degrees NZ

Re: Dev Alpha C Sysinfo display trick

When did the Alpha C devices ship?

+Like this post, if you find it useful/helpful!
Please use plain text.
Developer
peter9477
Posts: 6,473
Registered: ‎12-08-2010
My Device: PlayBook, Z10
My Carrier: none

Re: Dev Alpha C Sysinfo display trick


nzcoderguy wrote:

When did the Alpha C devices ship?


That depends on where you live. In Canada, many or most shipped a few weeks ago. I'm pretty sure in some other regions they haven't started shipping yet, but I don't try to follow it all any more.


Peter Hansen -- (BB10 and dev-related blog posts at http://peterhansen.ca.)
Author of White Noise and Battery Guru for BB10 and for PlayBook | Get more from your battery!
Please use plain text.