Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
Developer
abhi007tyagi
Posts: 225
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
My Device: Limited Edition Z10, Playbook
Accepted Solution

Not able to ship the Dev Alpha A Device via UPS

Hi

 

I had qualified for Dev Alpha A Trade up with new BB10 phone.

 

I received tracking number from RIM (now Blackberry) for my device pickup by UPS.

 

On the date of pickup no one showed.

I contacted RIM and UPs via mail and I get a toll free number to decide on a new date.

 

I called up UPS guys for the pickup but after they learned that I am shipping a device with battery in it,

they refused to process the request.

 

They simply said either remove the battery from the device or the device can not be shipped !

I followed with them on several chats but they always told me to contact Blackberry.

 

I had dropped a mail to Blackberry on Friday 8th Feb, 2013 but didn't received any reply from them till now.

 

Please can any one help me in this issue ?

Any one facing such issue in shipping from India?

 

How will I get my device :smileysad:

I am eagerly waiting for it !!!

 

Thanks

Abhinav Tyagi

 

Blackberry Z10-Limited Edition
Blackberry Playbook (won in free playbook offer)
My Apps : pAinT, HealthMeter, Shoot
Please use plain text.
Developer
abhi007tyagi
Posts: 225
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
My Device: Limited Edition Z10, Playbook

Re: Not able to ship the Dev Alpha A Device via UPS

here is the link where it is mentioned about battery operated devices for shipping via UPS

http://www.ups.com/content/in/en/resources/ship/packaging/guidelines/batteries.html#Electronic+Items...
Blackberry Z10-Limited Edition
Blackberry Playbook (won in free playbook offer)
My Apps : pAinT, HealthMeter, Shoot
Please use plain text.
Developer
positive6900
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎07-23-2012
My Device: bb10 dev alpha

Re: Not able to ship the Dev Alpha A Device via UPS

hi

did you got any answer from bb,i want to post it from delhi.

please share the answer wehen you get it.

 

thankyou

Please use plain text.
Developer
soaman
Posts: 848
Registered: ‎03-03-2011
My Device: Z10

Re: Not able to ship the Dev Alpha A Device via UPS

TNT didn't complicate
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Leader of Ljubljana BlackBerry Developer Group
BlackBerry Certified Builder for Native Application Development
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
velumani
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎07-26-2012
My Device: Blackberry Z10

Re: Not able to ship the Dev Alpha A Device via UPS

[ Edited ]

Discharge device battery and make sure that device should not on,show to ups pickup driver. They might accept.



Try my HTML5 app CountDown (free)


Click Accept as Solution if this post that have solved your issue(s)!
Like if you found this post useful..
Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
tab4u
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎07-23-2012
My Device: blackberry bold 9900

Re: Not able to ship the Dev Alpha A Device via UPS

[ Edited ]

Well u can shoot ur querries here, i am from delhi. a qualified for limited edition bb z10. and shipped my Dev alpha Via UPS.

it has already been recieved at HONKONG office and i got the delivery confirmation mail also.

NOW the problem you faced is quite normal and i also faced the same.

1) UPS (india) dont provide pick up, u need to go to okhla industrial office(delhi) to send it.

2) go with 3 print outs of the shipping label(it has been provided in the mail).

3) when said about the battery inside, just tell them "its a development device and sealed pack, and battery is enbedded and cant be removed since there is no case or something.

tell them that you just ship it and get it back in case it is not exported back, since there are hundrends of people who are sending it to honk kong.

just do it and tell them to ship it, in case it is stopped get it back to me, and see.... it will work it out dude... mine worked

 

for confirmation go to www.ups.com and search of my label number wiz: 

1Z8832VR8693871868

 

hope it will help u out. 

 

EDIT: Personal Information such as e-mail is prohibited for your security. Please review User Guidelines  under section "Be careful."

Please use plain text.
Developer
abhi007tyagi
Posts: 225
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
My Device: Limited Edition Z10, Playbook

Re: Not able to ship the Dev Alpha A Device via UPS

As per the tracking number UPS says it was mentioned that no battery is there.

How did you managed to remove the battery?

 

Blackberry Z10-Limited Edition
Blackberry Playbook (won in free playbook offer)
My Apps : pAinT, HealthMeter, Shoot
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
velumani
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎07-26-2012
My Device: Blackberry Z10

Re: Not able to ship the Dev Alpha A Device via UPS

There is no option to remove battery, you have to convince ups pickup service people.



Try my HTML5 app CountDown (free)


Click Accept as Solution if this post that have solved your issue(s)!
Like if you found this post useful..
Please use plain text.
Developer
abhi007tyagi
Posts: 225
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
My Device: Limited Edition Z10, Playbook

Re: Not able to ship the Dev Alpha A Device via UPS

yhea that I know..

I have registered for pickup and the guy will be coming for pick up.

I have told them that it runs by attaching power cable only and has no battery !!

 

Regarding any conversation from RIM. They connected me with the HK warehouse who asked for my

address. But they also didn't replied in last 4-5 days now.

 

I am hoping this LIE :smileysad: will make device reach its destination.

 

It would be better if RIM or Blackberry could have collected the devices in the City itself !

 

Thanks

Fingers Crossed

Abhinav Tyagi

 

Blackberry Z10-Limited Edition
Blackberry Playbook (won in free playbook offer)
My Apps : pAinT, HealthMeter, Shoot
Please use plain text.
Developer
positive6900
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎07-23-2012
My Device: bb10 dev alpha

Re: Not able to ship the Dev Alpha A Device via UPS

inform me as soon as it gets picked,then i will also schedule a pickup.

 

thankyou:smileyhappy::smileyhappy:

Please use plain text.