Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
Developer
ap_spd
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎03-11-2013
My Device: 9900, waiting for LE Z10
My Carrier: Telstra

Will Warehouse check for PIN using the barcode of Dev Alpha ?

Hi All,

 

I sent the Dev Alpha back to Warehouse using UPS and I did a security wipe before sending the device back. The last message on the screen was "Screen showing connect to computer icon". Since I was in a hurry to send it back and get my hands on the LE device (and the fact that I was already at UPS location) I just back the device as is.

 

How will the warehouse team get the PIN for my device ? Does the barcode bulilt into the device show the barcode ? Or does the team at warehouse location log into each device to check the PIN (dont think so, imagine doing it for 000's of devices) .

 

thanks guys!!!

Please use plain text.
Developer
fantas
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎02-10-2012
My Device: Limited Developer Edition
My Carrier: WiFi

Re: Will Warehouse check for PIN using the barcode of Dev Alpha ?

Im sure they have other methods than turn on the phone and check the pin, for sure.
If i've helped you use the like button (KUDOS)!
Follow me at twitter: @hektorc
Read my blog: http://hektor.in
Check my GitHub: github.com/hektorcyc
Please use plain text.
Developer
soaman
Posts: 848
Registered: ‎03-03-2011
My Device: Z10

Re: Will Warehouse check for PIN using the barcode of Dev Alpha ?

PIN is written on the box.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Leader of Ljubljana BlackBerry Developer Group
BlackBerry Certified Builder for Native Application Development
Please use plain text.
Developer
vtong
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎08-02-2012
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: RIM

Re: Will Warehouse check for PIN using the barcode of Dev Alpha ?

PIN at the back of DevA.

I did show this PIN for the guy pick up my dev

Please use plain text.
Developer
n_jay144
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎09-05-2012
My Device: Z10 Red, PlayBook, DevAlpha C
My Carrier: Play

Re: Will Warehouse check for PIN using the barcode of Dev Alpha ?

@ap_spd I returned my DevAlpha A in exactly the same state as yours. It is OK. Don't be afraid. PIN number and barcode is on the box.

Please use plain text.
Developer
ap_spd
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎03-11-2013
My Device: 9900, waiting for LE Z10
My Carrier: Telstra

Re: Will Warehouse check for PIN using the barcode of Dev Alpha ?

thanks @n_jay. I used a different box to ship the device back :Innocent: just cos I got the trade up email while I was at work and I could not wait to drop the package at UPS :Punk:

Please use plain text.
Developer
n_jay144
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎09-05-2012
My Device: Z10 Red, PlayBook, DevAlpha C
My Carrier: Play

Re: Will Warehouse check for PIN using the barcode of Dev Alpha ?

Some number was imprinted on SIM tray. I am not sure it was PIN or IMEI?

Please use plain text.
Developer
mzex
Posts: 368
Registered: ‎06-30-2012
My Device: Playbook, Z10LE, DevAlpha C
My Carrier: Telenor, Mobitel

Re: Will Warehouse check for PIN using the barcode of Dev Alpha ?

IMEI, Pin, and SerialNo are all written on DevAlpha B, beneath battery.

Please use plain text.
Developer
soaman
Posts: 848
Registered: ‎03-03-2011
My Device: Z10

Re: Will Warehouse check for PIN using the barcode of Dev Alpha ?

It is hard to remove the battery on Dev Alpha A :smileyhappy:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Leader of Ljubljana BlackBerry Developer Group
BlackBerry Certified Builder for Native Application Development
Please use plain text.
Developer
mzex
Posts: 368
Registered: ‎06-30-2012
My Device: Playbook, Z10LE, DevAlpha C
My Carrier: Telenor, Mobitel

Re: Will Warehouse check for PIN using the barcode of Dev Alpha ?

It's harder on iPhone :smileytongue:

Please use plain text.