Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® 10 OS Device Software

Reply
Regular Contributor
dwaynea
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎01-26-2010
My Device: Q10 & PB 64GB

Account Info Needed (but not really?)

I keep getting this message on my Q10 under Notifications:

  

   Account Info Needed

   You need to update your account password for EW568

 

(EW568 is the name of the PC where Link is installed.)

 

I am able to sync just fine with Outlook through Link on PC EW568.  If I go to Settings, Accounts on the Q10 I see the BB Link account for EW536 and it shows as correctly configured.  Whatsup?  How do I convince the Q10 that no further account info is needed.

 

Thank you in advance for your prelies and assistance.

Dwayne A

Retired
ViciousFerret
Posts: 4,285
Registered: ‎07-26-2010
My Device: Q10/Q5/Z10/9930/9860/9310

Re: Account Info Needed (but not really?)

Hey dwaynea,

Welcome to the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

 

Thanks for the question.

 

What version of BlackBerry Link are you currently using?  Click on Settings and it will appear on the left side.  Also does the notification appear when you leave a Wi-Fi hotspot?

 

I look forward to your reply.

 

Cheers.


-ViciousFerret


 


Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on Twitter! @BlackBerryHelp


Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Click  Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!



Regular Contributor
dwaynea
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎01-26-2010
My Device: Q10 & PB 64GB

Re: Account Info Needed (but not really?)

Hello Mr. Ferret,

Link Version 1.1.1.41

I've not noted a correlation between the notification and leaving a wifi hotspot, but I will pay special attention to that in the next 24h.

Dwayne A
New Developer
osterczyk
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-06-2013
My Device: BlackBerry Q10

Re: Account Info Needed (but not really?)

[ Edited ]

I'm having the same issue.

 

BlackBerry Link Version 1.1.1 (build 33) on Mac OS X 10.8.5

 

Running OS version 10.1.0.4633 on Q10

 

Will also keep an eye on the possible relationship between the notification appearing and wi-fi connection,

 

Oliver

Regular Contributor
dwaynea
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎01-26-2010
My Device: Q10 & PB 64GB

Re: Account Info Needed (but not really?)

Okay - updated data.

Sat under a restaurant wifi hotspot last night for 2h. Got the notification 10minutes into the session. Did not get the message after leaving the restaurant.

Went to a hotel. Was under the hotel's wifi hotspot for the night. Used BBM voice chat extensively through the night. Did NOT get the notificaiton once event after leaving the hotel this morning.

There seems to be poor correlation between the notification and wifi hotspot use.

Dwayne A
Regular Contributor
dwaynea
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎01-26-2010
My Device: Q10 & PB 64GB

Re: Account Info Needed (but not really?)

Hey Mr. Ferret, you still there....?

More new data. I can sit under a wifi hot spot for hours and not recieve the notification. However, as soon as I open an app like Crackberry for BB10 the notification comes immediately.

Any idea what's going on, or is this an undocumented 'feature'?

Dwayne A
Regular Contributor
dwaynea
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎01-26-2010
My Device: Q10 & PB 64GB

Re: Account Info Needed (but not really?)

Hello, McFly, is anybody home?

Can no other user or semi-pro provide an explantion and cure to this phenomenon?
JSanders
Posts: 86,500
Likes: 23,191
Solutions: 5,988
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Account Info Needed (but not really?)

Have you yet upgraded to Link v1.2?




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Regular Contributor
dwaynea
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎01-26-2010
My Device: Q10 & PB 64GB

Re: Account Info Needed (but not really?)

I appologise for being daft, but I can find no button or hyperlink within Link V1.1.1.41 to upgrade to Link V1.2.

 

How does one 'upgrade' Link?

Regular Contributor
dwaynea
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎01-26-2010
My Device: Q10 & PB 64GB

Re: Account Info Needed (but not really?)

Okay, okay, okay.  I found the link and installed Link V1.2.0.28.

 

I will run with this for a while and see if the Account Info Needed notifications cease to display.

 

D