Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® 10 OS Device Software

TCT
Contributor
My Device: Passport
My Carrier: Virgin / Roam
Accepted Solution

Q10 Will Not Upgrade to 10.2

This is my first time ever in a "tech" forum so if the problem I am having is answered somewhere on this forum, please accept my appolgies in advance for not looking closer :smileyhappy:

My Q10 OS is 10.1.0.4189.  I have been trying to update to the 10.2 since it was introduced last month but either through BB LINK or "over the air" the message is the same "You have the latest software".

I have tried the normal hard and soft boot to no avail.  Is there something else I should do or is my OS the latest for my Q10?

Contributor
My Device: Z30 STA100-3, Z10 STL100-4, PlayBook, 9930, 9630
My Carrier: Verizon Wireless

Re: Q10 Will Not Upgrade to 10.2

Unfortunately over the air (OTA) updates or updates through Link are tied to whatever OS your carrier currently has allowed to be available.

To use the latest OS releases (such as "leaked" OS or newer releases from other carriers) you would have to find the files from a third-party website.

TCT
Contributor

Thanks for getting back to me so quicly, I really appreciate it!

One thing I should have mentioned is that my wife is with the same carrier (Virgin Mobile Canada) but has the BB Z10 which updated almost a month ago.  Is the update not the same?

Thanks,

Colin

Contributor
My Device: Z30 STA100-3, Z10 STL100-4, PlayBook, 9930, 9630
My Carrier: Verizon Wireless

While the features available on 10.2 on the Z10 and 10.2 on the Q10 will be the same, the actual software is different between devices. And for whatever reason carriers aren't releasing software evenly across all BB10 devices.