Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® 9720

New Contributor
dmlaty
My Device: 9720
Accepted Solution

Can't make or recieve calls on new 9720

Hi all I have just taken delivery of my new 9720. Bought it on ebay as an unwanted upgrade. The phone is on orange, I have inserted my sim connected to my wireless network, checked fixed dialling is no on etc etc but cannot make or recieve calls. I'm new to the blackberry phone so am I missing something? Thanks in advance Dave
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)

Re: Can't make or recieve calls on new 9720

Hi and Welcome to the Community!

Sadly, I fear the information we need is contained within the "etc etc" bit of your post, but I shall make a guess anyway. BBs are originally manufactured as locked for use only on their original carrier. To use them on a different carrier, you must unlock the MEP by obtaining the proper code sequence to enter into the device. Refer:

Good luck!

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
dmlaty

Hi
Thank you for the reply.
I bought the phone off eBay advertised as on orange. My sim is on orange, It seems this phone was not an original orange phone!
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne