Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry Advertising Service

Reply
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Advertising Service SDK Not Working

Hi Wadi,

 

Found the issue, your JavaScript is being executed before your DIV is loaded to the DOM. Swapping these lets the Ad load.

 

Another neat, though unrelated issue, the Chrome web browser seems to apply tons of CSS to the ad_banner, if testing in Chrome it may be a good idea to change this ID around.

 

Cheers,

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
Developer
wantoun
Posts: 165
Registered: ‎10-04-2010
My Carrier: alfa Lebanon

Re: Advertising Service SDK Not Working

[ Edited ]

Hi Garett,

Thank you so much for pointing this out. This seemed to fix the loading issue with the test ad.
However, when I put my app's zone ID, nothing loads on a real device. The DIV expands to a certain height but no ads ever load.

From the 'App Setup' tab I get:
Your site id = xxxxx, your zone id = yyyyy

Should I use the 'site id' or the 'zone id'? (I tried both, with the 'site id' the DIV at least expands)
Do they take a long time to show?

Wadi
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Advertising Service SDK Not Working

Hi Wadi,

 

If the test Zone ID loads but yours does not then it is likely that no Ads are being provided from the server. 

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
Developer
wantoun
Posts: 165
Registered: ‎10-04-2010
My Carrier: alfa Lebanon

Re: Advertising Service SDK Not Working

Any advise on what I can do about it?

I've had my app registered for over a week now.
Wadi
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Advertising Service SDK Not Working

Length of time registered may not be a factor. You could try modifying values in the vendor portal but you will never be *guaranteed* to receive ads.

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
Developer
wantoun
Posts: 165
Registered: ‎10-04-2010
My Carrier: alfa Lebanon

Re: Advertising Service SDK Not Working

I'm sorry, I'm not sure what do you mean by modofying values? I can only set the name of the app in the Advertisement website.

And why would I not receive ads if I signed up and got a zone id? Doesn't make sense :s
Wadi
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Advertising Service SDK Not Working

Ads are provided by advertising vendors, if no ads are available at a certain time or no ads meet the criteria set in your vendor portal then no ads will be displayed. Again, ads are not guranteed to be available 100% of the time.

 

For more info on using the Web Portal please refer to the following documentation:

http://docs.blackberry.com/en/developers/deliverables/29369/index.jsp?name=Web+Portal+-+User+Guide+-...

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
Developer
wantoun
Posts: 165
Registered: ‎10-04-2010
My Carrier: alfa Lebanon

Re: Advertising Service SDK Not Working

ok, well thank you very much for your help Garett. Appreciate it :smileyhappy:

One last question, can I use Google Adwords to display ads instead?
Wadi
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Advertising Service SDK Not Working

You can use any sort of Advertising Service you like, but any outside of the Advertising Service would not be officially supported.

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.