Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-15-2009
My Device: Not Specified

3g doesnt work

I jut bought a blackberry bold, whenever i put it into 3g Mobile Networks it gets the icon and then it goes into the sos mode and stays this way,

when i put it on 2g and 3g it will only work on edge and gprs

can anyone help?

Contributor
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎01-15-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: 3g doesnt work

Are you sure there's 3G coverage where you are? Check with your service provider, or if you have anyone else around with a 3G phone see if they can get a 3G signal (and how strong it is, if they only get 1 bar their phone might have a stronger antenna).

If you're 100% sure there's sufficient 3G coverage but your bold still can't find it the unit might be damaged.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-15-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: 3g doesnt work

I have another device with full bars of 3g but this unit it just simply goes to sos mode after showing the 3g icon for couple of seconds.

 

i already checked with the providers and they said there are no problems

 

Forums Advisor III
Posts: 1,078
Registered: ‎05-26-2008
My Device: 8300

Re: 3g doesnt work

Hi,

 

Try the SIM Card in another 3G Mobile device and see if it goes to 3G or SOS mode.

If it doesnt work then the SIM Card is faulty.

 

if it does, put it back into the BB and try again.

 

I have heard of some SIM Cards needing to be "persuaded" to work in 3G.....

 

 

Yes, Weird I know....



Checked out my Blackberry FAQ's and Links to Needed Articles here
http://darkeen.homelinux.com/index.php/Blackberryfaq
Forums Veteran III
Posts: 4,526
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Bold - T-mobile

Re: 3g doesnt work

Hi Devildealer and welcome to the Blackberry Forums

 

Can you post which is your carrier and where are you located? 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I help you with any inquire, thank you for click kudos in my post.
If your issue has been solved, please mark the post was solved.
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-03-2012
My Device: bold 9700
My Carrier: etisalat

Re: 3g doesnt work

I have the same problem, i am in Egypt and my carrier is "etisalat".  Bold 9700