Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

Reply
New Contributor
RoyalFool
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-27-2013
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Vodafone
Accepted Solution

A "battery" - but possibly OS - problem

Okay, like a lot of people I have a problem with my Bold 9900 battery seeming to lose all its charge when it gets to about 50%. Suddenly the phone starts to flash and the battery icon goes red. Checking the status the software says the battery is at about 8%. It's been doing this since about Saturday morning.

 

However, if I do either a soft or hard reset, the software shows the battery is about 55%. But it's not long before it then does the same problem of showing a low charge with red icon & flashing.

 

The OS is 7.1.0.714 Bundle 2061, Platform 5.1.0.532,

 

Could it be that I just need to reinstall the OS and, if so, how do I go about doing that?

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 46,973
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.1.3247), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: A "battery" - but possibly OS - problem

Hi and Welcome to the Community!

I recommend that you attempt to boot into Safe Mode:

  • KB17877 How to start a BlackBerry smartphone in Safe Mode

It may take you multiple attempts to get the ESC key sequence (press/release/hold) correct, so be patient. When successfully into Safe Mode, see what happens.

If the behavior ceases, then think carefully...what happened just before this behavior started? A new app? An update? A Theme? Something else? Think carefully as the smallest change could be causal...and attempt to undo whatever that was.



But if the behavior continues in Safe Mode, then please try this sequence"

  1. Obtain an known good and already fully charged additional battery...use it in your BB and see what happens
  2. Obtain access to a known good and identical BB...use your battery in it and see what happens

The results of this will indicate if it's your BB or your battery that has the problem.


 

If the result is that your BB has the problem (e.g., your battery works fine in the other BB, yet your BB continues to present this problem with the other "known good" battery), then you may need to consider more drastic actions -- WIPE, OS Reload, BBSAK Wipe/Reload, and the "Bare Bones" OS Reload Process. To prepare, you should be sure that you have a full backup to your PC...please review the Backup link in my auto-sig on this post for instructions.


You may also need the use of these tricks:

Good luck and let us know!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
RoyalFool
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-27-2013
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: A "battery" - but possibly OS - problem

Thanks for the advice, trying Safe Mode now.

 

[THINGS HAPPENED WHILE TYPING THIS]

 

Within a couple of minutes of going into Safe Mode the problem reoccurred.

 

I am now fully charging the phone in Safe Mode and will see what happens.

 

The problem for me is, if it does persist, I don't know anyone else with a Bold 9900 that I could borrow for a few hours to test my battery. :smileysad:

 

I may have to purchase a new battery and see if that makes a difference.

 

I thought back to the last few days and haven't installed any new apps, themes etc. But interestingly enough, something unusal did happen: because I forgot to put the phone on charge overnight the next morning (Saturday) it was it was showing the red icon. When I plugged it in, even after an hour it didn't show any change in the charge. So I did a soft reset and then, when it came back on it showed it had a significant amount of power and it didn't take long to finish charging. But it's been since this point I've been having problems. I've tried both soft and hard resets, but neither have made a difference.

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 46,973
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.1.3247), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: A "battery" - but possibly OS - problem

Your battery may have been damaged by a deep discharge...such can happen. While a "new" battery is not necessarily the same as a "known good" one, you may succeed with it. But, do understand that doing that test with a new battery will only result in a successful diagnosis if the battery is the root cause...if the BB is the root cause, then testing with a new battery does not achieve the ability to come to that deductive diagnosis. If things still fail with the new battery, you still will not know for sure if your battery or the BB is the root cause of the issue.

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
RoyalFool
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-27-2013
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: A "battery" - but possibly OS - problem

Well, it appears it was the battery. I now have a new one (and two back ups) and my phone is back to normal.

Please use plain text.