Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-03-2012
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Orange

Auto connection

Hi all, newbie here - my good lady and I have just taken delivery of Bold 9900's.

 

Hopefully a quick question - how do I set the phones to automatically use the WIFI when in range? I set the phones up and they connect to the WIFI no problem, but although I found some instruction on the web about moving the connection that you want to prioritise to the top, I can't find any way of doing it based on the instructions.

Posts: 89,529
Likes: 23,794
Solutions: 6,124
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Auto connection

  • Open your Manage Connections screen.
  • Scroll down to and click on WiFi Network
  • Click on Saved WiFi Networks.
  • Scroll to a saved WiFi Profile and DON'T click on it, but press your Menu key > Move.
  • Move it upward or downward as a priority as you choose.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-03-2012
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Orange

Re: Auto connection

[ Edited ]

Hi, thanks for the reply.

 

After opening 'manage connections' it lists:

 

  • Mobile Network
  • WIFI
  • Bluetooth
  • NFC

 

However if I scroll down and click on WIFI it just ticks the on/off box.

 

There is a section further down that lists:

 

  • Networks and Connections
  • WIFI Network
  • Service Status

If I click on WIFI Network it then takes me to the select a WIFI network to connect to. Not matter where I go to I never see the 'Move' option' in any menu.

 

If I go to the 'Saved WIFI Networks' it shows me the name of the WIFI connection, but pressing the menu key just gives me: Switch Application, Edit, Disable, Delete, Options, Help, Close. I've tried the Edit and Options settings but that doesn't help.

 

Posts: 89,529
Likes: 23,794
Solutions: 6,124
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Auto connection


Botty1963 wrote:

 

After opening 'manage connections' it lists:

 

  • Mobile Network
  • WIFI
  • Bluetooth
  • NFC

 

However if I scroll down and click on WIFI it just ticks the on/off box.


But re-read my instructions above, that ^^ is not what I asked you to do.

 


Botty1963 wrote:

If I click on WIFI Network it then takes me to the select a WIFI network to connect to. Not matter where I go to I never see the 'Move' option' in any menu.

 

If I go to the 'Saved WIFI Networks' it shows me the name of the WIFI connection, but pressing the menu key just gives me: Switch Application, Edit, Disable, Delete, Options, Help, Close. I've tried the Edit and Options settings but that doesn't help.

 


There you go, that's where I said go.

Do you have more than ONE saved WiFi network? If you only have the one, there's nothing to move higher in the priority list. :smileywink:




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-03-2012
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Orange

Re: Auto connection

There's only one WIFI network saved, but if I access the internet the mobile network icon seem to flash and the WIFI one do nothing.

Posts: 89,529
Likes: 23,794
Solutions: 6,124
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Auto connection

Okay.  So you can't prioritize only one saved WiFi profile. It's the only one you have. 

 

But I don't understand your statement about the mobile network icon flashing. 




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-03-2012
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Orange

Re: Auto connection

Is there any way of knowing that the WIFI is being used if for instance I use the internet when at home? I don't want to just assume that it's using the WIFI if it's coming off my mobile allowance. What I was saying was that a small flashing icon appears next to the signal strength indicator if I try to access the internet, but nothing on the WIFI indicator which suggests that it's not automatically using the WIFI. If I remember correctly on my son's iPhone he sets it to automatically use the network when he's in range.

Posts: 89,529
Likes: 23,794
Solutions: 6,124
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Auto connection

No, when WiFi is active and working and connected via WiFi, you can be sure all data flows through wifi.

 

On your Manage Connections screen, click on the Services Status.
What is the status of the BlackBerry Internet Service?  If it says "WiFi" then data is flowing through Wifi.

 

Now, if your WiFi router often drops out of and in of connection while at your home, you might get charged for some data use through the mobile network.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code