Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

Reply
New Contributor
larazim
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-24-2012
My Device: Blackberry Bold 9700
Accepted Solution

BB Bold 9790

Hi 

 

I have a BB Bold 9790 which I bought 4 months ago. It worked great until I upgraded the OS to 7.1.0 Bundle. Now for the first time in 5 years I am ready to give up on BB. I use the phone for work and bought it out of my own pocket.

 

These are the problems I am having

 

1) The phone ringer is set to 10 and always, but when I receive a call there is nothing to alert me or anything. So I am shutting down the phone 5 to 6 times a day by removing the battery.

 

2) When I lock the keypad and put the phone on the talble or in my bag the phone unlocks itself. I have to shut down to fix this 

 

3) I use to be able to connect the phone to my car Bluetooth with out a problem. Now it won't connect.

 

Please I really need help before I give up on BB

 

Thanks 

 

Lara

 

 

Forums Veteran III
Wolf359
Posts: 3,701
Registered: ‎12-29-2011
My Device: Z30 / Playbook

Re: BB Bold 9790

:smileysad:

I think we need to downgrade your device software.  I am not sure why the latest software isn't working properly.

 

download and install the software for your phone from
http://us.blackberry.com/support/apps-and-software/desktop-and-device-download-sites.html

The previous version of the software should be available on that page.

 

Download and install bbsak.  Here is the link and guide:
http://bbsak.org/faq.php

 

This may be a way to downgrade, but I don't know how your upgrade was performed:

http://docs.blackberry.com/en/smartphone_users/deliverables/31989/Downgrade_return_to_previous_devic...

 

http://www.brighthub.com/mobile/blackberry-platform/articles/33331.aspx

also provides some information using another tool but bbsak does the same thing listed in steps 4 - 7.  I think bbsak is easier to use but its just a matter of personal preference.

 

its also possible that the upgrade wasn't seamless and is causing all these issues.  If you want, you could use one of the tools listed above and reinstall 7.1 from scratch vs loading an older version.  I understand your frustration!  The choice is yours whether to load 7.1 from scratch or install an earlier version from scratch.  The only downfall is that if you load 7.1 from scratch, you could face the same issues, but I have no way of knowing.  I hope this helps.  oh.. the store can do this for you depending on your schedule!

________________________________________________________________
Please click the Thumbs Up icon if this comment has helped you!
If your issue is resolved, please click the solution button on the resolution! :Balloon:
Every BlackBerry should have BlackBerry Protect, get it now! | Follow me on Twitter | Bring Back BBM Music!
________________________________________________________________
New Contributor
larazim
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-24-2012
My Device: Blackberry Bold 9700

Re: BB Bold 9790

Hi Wolf359

 

I have tried everything you suggested, but I think  am doing something wrong because nothing is working.

 

Please help on an easier way to do it

 

Thanks

 

Lara

 

Forums Veteran III
Wolf359
Posts: 3,701
Registered: ‎12-29-2011
My Device: Z30 / Playbook

Re: BB Bold 9790

I will need some more detail.  Who is your carrier?  Do you have the desktop manager installed on your computer?

________________________________________________________________
Please click the Thumbs Up icon if this comment has helped you!
If your issue is resolved, please click the solution button on the resolution! :Balloon:
Every BlackBerry should have BlackBerry Protect, get it now! | Follow me on Twitter | Bring Back BBM Music!
________________________________________________________________
New Contributor
larazim
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-24-2012
My Device: Blackberry Bold 9700

Re: BB Bold 9790

My Carrier is Virgin Canada and yes I have desktop manager installed on my Computer.

When I went to virgin they told me to do a restore to factory setting. But i will loose everything.
Forums Veteran III
Wolf359
Posts: 3,701
Registered: ‎12-29-2011
My Device: Z30 / Playbook

Re: BB Bold 9790

We can assist you with backing up your data and and the reload of the software so you won't lose anything.

 

If you're not using blackberry protect then I recommend you set this up now.

http://us.blackberry.com/apps/blackberry-apps/protect.html

After it does its online backup, next do a full backup of your phone using the desktop manager:

http://helpblog.blackberry.com/2010/11/blackberry-backup/

 

Use this guide to reload the software on your phone:

http://btsc.webapps.blackberry.com/btsc/viewdocument.do?noCount=true&externalId=KB10144&sliceId=2&cm...

I recommend you use the version you said was working before the 7.1 upgrade.

 

OR

you can use guide for the doing the same thing.

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Device-software-for-BlackBerry/How-To-Reload-Your-Operating-S...

________________________________________________________________
Please click the Thumbs Up icon if this comment has helped you!
If your issue is resolved, please click the solution button on the resolution! :Balloon:
Every BlackBerry should have BlackBerry Protect, get it now! | Follow me on Twitter | Bring Back BBM Music!
________________________________________________________________
New Contributor
larazim
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-24-2012
My Device: Blackberry Bold 9700

Re: BB Bold 9790

it says it can't use bb protect because I am using bb enterprise servier
Forums Veteran III
Wolf359
Posts: 3,701
Registered: ‎12-29-2011
My Device: Z30 / Playbook

Re: BB Bold 9790

ok, I'm glad you told me that!  Since you're using corporate email, check with your IT department first before you reload the software.  If you do the reload, they will have setup your mail again via enterprise activation.  there is a chance they can reload the software for you since you're having various issues.  I'm not sure of your company setup, but it doesn't hurt to try.  You're right, you won't be able to use blackberry protect.  I apologize, I should have asked about this earlier.

________________________________________________________________
Please click the Thumbs Up icon if this comment has helped you!
If your issue is resolved, please click the solution button on the resolution! :Balloon:
Every BlackBerry should have BlackBerry Protect, get it now! | Follow me on Twitter | Bring Back BBM Music!
________________________________________________________________
New Contributor
larazim
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-24-2012
My Device: Blackberry Bold 9700

Re: BB Bold 9790

the mobile is my personal one with my works enterprise server. I will ask them to help me tho

thanks
Forums Veteran III
Wolf359
Posts: 3,701
Registered: ‎12-29-2011
My Device: Z30 / Playbook

Re: BB Bold 9790

Ok good deal!  Please keep us posted.

________________________________________________________________
Please click the Thumbs Up icon if this comment has helped you!
If your issue is resolved, please click the solution button on the resolution! :Balloon:
Every BlackBerry should have BlackBerry Protect, get it now! | Follow me on Twitter | Bring Back BBM Music!
________________________________________________________________