Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

Reply
New Member
naeemmahomed
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-01-2013
My Device: Z-10

Blackberry Restore

Hi

 

i have backuped my Z-10 in blackberry Link, but want to tranfer that retore to a 9900 bold, i am unable to read the restore file on the Blackberry desktop software and cannot restore the phone on blackberry Link.

 

could someone please assist on how i am able to restore the 9900 form a blackberry link backup

JSanders
Posts: 86,605
Likes: 23,201
Solutions: 5,993
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Blackberry Restore

It is not possible to use a Z10 backup to restore to a legacy BBOS device Bold.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
jerrypmullen
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-07-2014
My Device: Bold 9900

Re: Blackberry Restore

I have replaced a defectivebold 9900 with a new one.

I have the back up from the old

I connected the new one and udated os

     it seemed to do an automatic save

I cannot find the way to restore the old phone back up to the new phone.

 

appreaciate any help

thanks

Jerry

JSanders
Posts: 86,605
Likes: 23,201
Solutions: 5,993
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Blackberry Restore

Jerry, in your BlackBerry desktop software choose the Device menu, and restore.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
jerrypmullen
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-07-2014
My Device: Bold 9900

Re: Blackberry Restore

Thanks. I have done that now but it seems like not all the processes and setting from the original are the same. I seems that the last time I changed BB models there was a "transfer" option that moved everything.

This will work but I am wondering if there  is another option

Jerry

 

I did apprecitate your prompt reply to my request

JSanders
Posts: 86,605
Likes: 23,201
Solutions: 5,993
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Blackberry Restore

Yes, there is the Switch Device function still in the BlackBberry Desktop Software, you can use that instead if you choose, but it does require both devices onhand and in working order.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code